2011 Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay gets surfable waves

July 15, 2011 | Surfing
Jeremy Flores: the Euro boys are doing well

The iconic South African pointbreak delivered three-to-four foot (1 metre) waves to the opening round of the 2011 Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay. The fourth stage of the 2011 ASP World Tour got underway without Kelly Slater, Bobby Martinez and Dane Reynolds.

The home boy, Jordy Smith, was the man of the day. He scored the highest heat total of the day (a 16.87 out of a possible 20) as well as the highest single-wave score (a 9.00 out of a possible 10) to win his first heat against Adam Melling and wildcard Sean Holmes.

"They both got really good waves and I had to make do with what was left. It’s not classic J-Bay, but even when it’s like this, it’s still a pretty good wave", said Smith.

"I don’t really feel the pressure to perform," Smith said. "I’ve got my little program here with my friends and I’m just focusing on getting waves and surfing well. I’m happy to be through to Round 3."

Dusty Payne had a great surfing day and dispatched Michel Bourez and Patrick Gudauskas to Round 2.

"It was tricky out there this afternoon, but when the good ones come through, they’re still really rippable," Payne said. "Fortunately, I got that good one at the beginning and that set the pace for me in the heat. Stoked to be back in Jeffreys again and hope we can get some solid surf here in the next few days", tells Payne.

Mick Fanning, former two-time ASP World Champion put in a blitzing performance in this morning’s clean conditions, navigating the Jeffreys Bay walls with speed, punch and bite.

"There were definitely some fun waves out there," Fanning said. "It’s great to put the jersey back on and mix it up with the boys. Board feels good and I’m happy to be straight through to Round 3. Hope we can get some solid swell out there for the competition."

Adriano de Souza, current leader in the hunt for the 2011 ASP World Title, was dispatched to Round 2 today by lethal goofy-footer Kai Otton. If Kelly Slater and Bobby Martinez fail to show for Round 2, they will be replaced under the new ASP ruling.

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay 2011 | Round 1 Results

Heat 1: Tiago Pires (PRT) 11.04, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 6.66, Cory Lopez (USA) 6.60
Heat 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.10, C.J. Hobgood (USA) 12.17, Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 9.67
Heat 3: Jadson Andre (BRA) 12.90, Taj Burrow (AUS) 10.00, Gabe Kling (USA) 8.13
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS) 15.73, Heitor Alves (BRA) 12.17, Bobby Martinez (USA) 0.00
Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.87, Sean Holmes (ZAF) 14.93, Adam Melling (AUS) 14.57
Heat 6: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 12.77, Shaun Payne (ZAF) 7.46, Kelly Slater (USA) 0.00
Heat 7: Kai Otton (AUS) 13.50, Adriano de Souza (BRA) 8.50, Chris Davidson (AUS) 4.73
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS) 12.70, Owen Wright (AUS) 8.43, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 7.56
Heat 9: Daniel Ross (AUS) 11.70, Adrian Buchan (AUS) 7.80, Kieren Perrow (AUS) 7.73
Heat 10: Julian Wilson (AUS) 14.10, Taylor Knox (USA) 10.46, Damien Hobgood (USA) 9.70
Heat 11: Dusty Payne (HAW) 16.03, Michel Bourez (PYF) 9.10, Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 8.77
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 12.66, Brett Simpson (USA) 8.87, Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 7.60

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: