The 2014 Billabong Pro Tahiti is ready to roll

August 12, 2014 | Surfing
Nathan Hedge: experience pays off at Teahupoo

The 2014 Billabong Pro Tahiti will run between August 15th-26th, at the world-famous reef pass of Teahupoo. A solid swell is expected to hit the magic island in the second week of competition.

Glenn Hall, Mitch Coleborn, Tuamata Puhetini, and Nathan Hedge will join the Dream Tour surfers as Teahupoo prepares a cold meal to be served at the infamous lefthand reefbreak.

Kelly Slater has won in "Chopes" four times (2000, 2003, 2005 and 2011) and in 2005, he surfed the perfect heat, scoring the first-ever 20 out of a possible 20 points against Damien Hobgood in the Final. Adrian Buchan is the defending event winner. He's ready.

"Teahupoo is a very special place for me and winning last year was definitely a career highlight. I've been coming to Tahiti for a number of years, and I feel as confident at the venue as one can," explains Buchan.

"At the end of the day though, Teahupo'o is in charge and teaches everyone respect. It can be humbling, but I'm looking forward to this year's event and hopeful that I can recreate the magic from last season."

The Trials delivered a dramatic experience for Kevin Bourez. The Polynesian surfer hit the reef and suffered facial injuries and head fractures. His brother Michel says he's "in good spirits," although you might imagine what it feels to fall in a sharp reef that sits 20 inches below the water.

Do you how it all started? Take a look at the history of Teahupoo.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: