The 2015 US Open of Surfing is down to 24 surfers

July 31, 2015 | Surfing
Kolohe Andino: sharp and fit | Photo: Lallande/Vans

The Round 2 of the 2015 Vans US Open of Surfing has been completed, in two-to-three-foot surf at Huntington Beach, California.

Filipe Toledo, the defending champion, used his dangerous air game to secure two excellent scores and earn the highest heat total of the contest so far, an 18.20.

"I'm really confident and my board is really good. This is actually the exact board I rode at Snapper at the start of the year. I'm feeling confident to the point that I don't need a leash. Actually, I don't train for the airs, it's natural - I just watch a lot of movies," revealed Toledo.

Former World Championship Tour surfer Dion Atkinson caught the best waves of his heat and moved through to Round 3 with big turns and a committed performance.

"It's hard with out there at the moment. It's just about trying to maximize any opportunity out here. You have to get a big first turn. I got down here early to watch the first few heats. I'm just trying to stick to my strengths and do the biggest turns I can," added Atkinson.

Kolohe Andino looked sharp and fit in the Californian break. The surfer from San Clemente delivered a solid performance and defeated Tomas Hermes, Jack Freestone and Nat Young.

I'm doing everything in my power to do good for the rest of the year. I feel like if I keep working outside of the event it will be reflected in my results. I was thinking I definitely don't want those guys to get the best waves otherwise I'm going to lose because if they do get them they're going to get big scores. That was a stacked heat," concluded Andino.

2015 Vans US Open of Surfing | Round 3 Match-Ups

Adam Melling (AUS), Nathan Yeomans (USA), Marco Fernandez (BRA)
Michael Rodrigues (BRA), Joan Duru (FRA), Kanoa Igarashi (USA)
Tim Reyes (USA), Mitch Crews (AUS), Freddy Patacchia (HAW)
Hiroto Ohhara (JPN), Carlos Munoz (CRI), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Filipe Toledo (BRA), Alex Ribeiro (BRA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Miguel Pupo (BRA), Beyrick De Vries (ZAF), Maxime Huscenot (FRA)
Dion Atkinson (AUS), Tanner Hendrickson (HAW), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Billy Stairmand (NZL), Charles Martin (GLP), Tomas Hermes (BRA)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019