The 30 years of the Triple Crown of Surfing

November 7, 2013 | Surfing
Triple Crown of Surfing: Kelly Slater negotiates a juicy barrel

The Triple Crown of Surfing was run for the first time 30 years ago, back in 1983.

Haleiwa, Sunset Beach and Banzai Pipeline. The three jewels of Hawaiian surfing got united in 1983 when the Triple Crown of Surfing hit the North Shore of Oahu for the first time.

Today, the event represents the ultimate test for professional surfers. The best rider in the best Hawaiian surf spots. Who wouldn't pay to feel its glory?

Fred Hemmings is the mastermind behind the Triple Crown of Surfing. Born in Honolulu, the surfing champion and Conservative politician decided to create a series that would test surfers' abilities at Pipeline and two other challenging, world-class waves.

In 1983, he combined the Pipeline Masters, the Duke Classic, and the World Cup of Surfing into the Triple Crown of Surfing.

The iconic event has seen rivalries, wipeouts, wave drama, celebrations, tears, and hidden backstage stories. The influence of the Ho brothers, the Sunny Garcia domination years, the perfect 20s, and the Andy Irons versus Kelly Slater clashes were some of the most memorable moments.

Big and powerful surf. That's all is asked from the triplet. That is why the Triple Crown of Surfing continues a rich surfing heritage of progression, high performance, and power surfing.

It is a series where careers are made, reputations are forged, and mistakes can have dire consequences. The prestigious title is a professional surfing milestone, one that rivals that of the ASP World champion.

Triple Crown of Surfing | The Champions

Sunny Garcia (1992, 1993, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2004)
Andy Irons (2002, 2003, 2005, 2006)
Derek Ho (1984, 1986, 1988, 1990)
Joel Parkinson (2008, 2009, 2010)
Gary Elkerton (1987, 1989)
Kelly Slater (1995, 1998)
Michael Ho (1983, 1985)
Bede Durbidge (2007)
John Florence (2011)
Kaipo Jaquias (1996)
Mike Rommelse (1997)
Myles Padaca (2001)
Sebastian Zietz (2012)
Tom Carroll (1991)