The Australian Longboard Titles hit Port Macquarie

July 29, 2010 | Surfing

Harley Ingleby: a classic favorite

Longboarders from across the nation will be hanging 10 in Port Macquarie next month, with the Australian Longboard Titles to open the 2010 edition of the Country Energy Australian Surf Festival.

The longboard component, which will run from the 15-21 August, will be followed by the Australian Stand Up Paddleboard Titles (22-25 August) and the Australian Open Surfmasters (22-28 August) at the prestigious two-week festival.

Reigning ASP Men’s World Longboard champion Harley Ingleby, 26, (Emerald Beach, NSW) will be looking to erase the disappointment of finishing runner-up to Queensland’s Josh Constable (Noosa) in last year’s Australian Titles final when competition starts on Sunday 15th August.

“I really want to do well at this year’s event after coming second last year,” said Ingleby.

“I got second in the NSW Longboard Titles last month so I’m feeling pretty good at the moment. I’m surfing well and my boards are feeling good, so I’m pumped for a big result.”

Ingleby will be joined in the open men’s division by a strong NSW team including 2010 NSW Longboard Open Men’s champion Dane Pioli (Tweed Heads), Paul Scholten (Emerald Beach), Terry Byrne (Avoca), Jared Neal (Sapphire Beach), Jack Lynch (Scotts Head), Beau Nixon (Tweed Heads) and Lee Miller (Byron Bay).

In the Open Women’s division, the Queensland team has posted a talented team; including the likes of 2010 Queensland Open Women’s champion Sharon Jackson (Alex Headlands) and reigning event champion Rosie Locke (Noosa).

The Australian Longboard Titles comprises of 11 divisions including the open men and women, under 18 boys and girls, O/35 men and women, plus the O/40, O/45, O/50, O/55 and O/60 men.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: