The best junior surfers gather at North Narrabeen

January 7, 2011 | Surfing

Nat Young: his name's a surf brand

The best world junior surfers are getting ready for the ASP World Junior Championships, set to Sydney’s North Narrabeen. The event’s waiting period begins on the 8th January 2011 and marks the final stop of the inaugural ASP World Junior Tour, right after the Bali stage.

The US surfer Nat Young, 19, is looking forward to fight for the victory. "Winning this event would be the biggest accomplishment of my life," Young said. "It’s all the best juniors in the world, so to win and be the World Junior Champ would be a dream come true".

Young will be facing the Australian challenge the way he sees ASP Prime competitions. "This event is definitely on the same scale as a Prime," Young said. "Every heat from the start could pretty much be a final and a lot of the top juniors in this event came close to qualifying for the World Tour".

Another US surfer trying to get the final trophy is Conner Coffin, 17, a powerful natural-footer that arrives in Sydney as a wildcard, with no pressure on the shoulders. "Going into Bali, I definitely felt no pressure as a wildcard and I think that it gave me an advantage," Coffin said.

"As a wildcard you surf against the high seeds and they tend to have more pressure on them. I'm going into this event with the same mindset and just hope that I can have a good time and get some fun waves. It's cool that I still have a shot at the title but at this point it's really just one heat at a time. I was really excited to have the opportunity of competing in this year’s worlds and am looking forward to having some good times over here in Australia."

Expect tough heats, raging rides and other top junior athletes like Maxime Huscenot and Dale Staples. The draw is set, so let the surf hit North Narrabeen.

Upcoming Round 1 Billabong ASP World Junior Championships Heats:
Heat 1: Shaun Joubert (ZAF), Tyler Newton (HAW), Ty Watson (AUS)
Heat 2: Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Krystian Kymerson (BRA), Evan Thompson (USA)
Heat 3: Marc Lacomare (FRA), Chad Du Toit (ZAF), Takumi Nakamura (JPN)
Heat 4: Nat Young (USA), Luke Davis (USA), Andrew Doheny (USA)
Heat 5: Miguel Pupo (BRA), Evan Geiselman (USA), Hiroto Arai (JPN)
Heat 6: Granger Larsen (HAW), Nic Von Rupp (DEU), Enrique Ariitu (PYF)
Heat 7: Caio Ibelli (BRA), Alex Smith (HAW), Ramzi Boukhiam (MOR)
Heat 8: Jack Freestone (AUS), Ian Gouveia (BRA), Keala Naihe (HAW)
Heat 9: Dale Staples (ZAF), Charles Martin (GLP), Tom Cioarec (FRA)
Heat 10: Mitch Crews (AUS), Chris Salisbury (AUS), Arashi Kato (JPN)
Heat 11: Jesse Mendes (BRA), Albee Layer (HAW), Conner Coffin (USA)
Heat 12: Kiron Jabour (HAW), Dean Bowen (AUS), Ian Gentil (HAW)
Heat 13: Davey Cathels (AUS), Guillermo Satt (CHL), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Heat 14: Kolohe Andino (USA), Kaimana Jaquias (HAW), Kaishu Tanaka (JPN)
Heat 15: Beyrick De Vries (ZAF), Keanu Asing (HAW), Kaito Onashi (JPN)
Heat 16: Brendon Gibbens (ZAF), Fillpe Jervis (PRT), Peterson Crisanto (BRA)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019