The curse of Oro keeps Teahupoo flat

August 23, 2012 | Surfing
Tahiti: large sunset, small waves

Oro, the Tahitian god of war, has probably sent a curse to stop the waves from firing up the mythical wave peak of Teahupoo. The fifth lay day has been called at the Billabong Pro Tahiti 2012.

After completing the opening two rounds of competition in the opening two days of the waiting period, a decent swell is traveling in many directions, except for Teahupoo.

"Smaller than yesterday out there this morning so we've called competition off for the day", said Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge. "We don't anticipate much to fill in until mid-to-late Saturday, but will be back tomorrow morning to make another assessment at that time".

The question remains: will there be any waves until the end of the waiting period? Current forecast models suggest that the event will have the best opportunity to run in the last two days. Now, you can only enjoy small surf.

A medium size SW ground swell will move for the end of the waiting period, strongest on Sunday, with an even larger south swell now looking likely for Monday. Trades will increase on Thursday and are strong Friday through Monday.

When competition resumes, up first will be two-time ASP World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1 Mick Fanning, 31, up against Fredrick Patacchia, 30, in the opening heat of Round 3. The last day of the Billabong Pro Tahiti 2012 is Monday, 27th August.

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2012 | Round 3 Match-Ups

Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)