The draw for the 2013 Billabong Pipe Masters

December 6, 2013 | Surfing
Pipe Masters: only Kelly can do this

The draw for the 2013 Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons has been announced. The world champion and the 2014 qualifiers are to be decided on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii, between December 6th-20th.

Kelly Slater, Mick Fanning and the top seeds of the 2013 ASP World Tour will only hit the waters of Banzai Pipeline on Round 3 of competition.

Let's make maths easy. In order for Slater to surpass Fanning for an unprecedented 12th crown, he must win the event. If Slater does run the road to victory at Pipeline, Fanning must finish 3rd or better to claim the title for himself.

Qualification hopes for next season's elite club will also be at stake, during the Pipe Masters 2013. Five surfers are sitting outside the bubble.

Miguel Pupo, Patrick Gudauskas, Damien Hobgood, Dusty Payne, and Yadin Nicol. These surfers could qualify through either the ASP WCT or the ASP World Ranking and their minimum results needed could change depending on surfers in the Top 22 on the ASP WCT or Top 10 on the ASP World Ranking.

Currently, the minimum cutoff for the ASP WCT is 14,750 points. It is important to note that these scenarios rely on surfers who are currently holding a requalification spot making no changes in their ASP WCT or World Ranking.

Miguel Pupo currently needs a 13th place to meet the current minimum cutoff. Patrick Gudauskas needs a Quarterfinals result to finish within the ASP Top 22, while a 9th could qualify him through the World Ranking.

Damien Hobgood currently needs a 5th or better to qualify in the Top 22, but a 9th or better could qualify him through the World Ranking.

Dusty Payne could still qualify on the ASP WCT, but needs to win the Billabong Pipe Masters to do so. Payne could qualify through the ASP World Ranking, but currently needs a minimum 9th place result. Yadin Nicol could qualify via a 2nd place finish or better at the Billabong Pipe Masters.

The 2013 Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons will kick off with a fun size run of NW swell, with a bigger NNW swell lining up for the weekend and early next week.

2013 Billabong Pipe Masters | Round 1 Match-Ups

Heat 1: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) vs. Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Joel Centeio (HAW)
Heat 3: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Marcus Hickman (HAW)
Heat 4: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Kaimana Jaquias (HAW)
Heat 5: Yadin Nicol (AUS) vs. Kahea Hart (HAW)
Heat 6: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 7: Dusty Payne (HAW) vs. Reef McIntosh (HAW)
Heat 8: Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Olamana Eleogram (HAW)
Heat 9: Mitch Crews (AUS) vs. Shane Dorian (HAW)
Heat 10: Granger Larsen (HAW) vs. Kalani Chapman (HAW)
Heat 11: Tanner Gudauskas (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 12: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Ryan Callinan (AUS)

2013 Billabong Pipe Masters | Round 2 Match-Ups

Heat 1: Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. TBD
Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. TBD
Heat 3: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) vs. TBD
Heat 4: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. TBD
Heat 5: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. TBD
Heat 6: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 8: Brett Simpson (USA) vs. TBD
Heat 9: Travis Logie (ZAF) vs. TBD
Heat 10: Miguel Pupo (BRA) vs. TBD
Heat 11: Adam Melling (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 12: Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. TBD

2013 Billabong Pipe Masters Round 3 Match-Ups:

Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 2: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. TBD
Heat 3: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 4: Nat Young (USA) vs. TBD
Heat 5: John John Florence (HAW) vs. TBD
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. TBD
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. TBD
Heat 10: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. TBD
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. TBD

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: