"The Eddie" can go, Keala Kennelly added to the alternate list

November 29, 2016 | Surfing
Kelly Slater and Grant Baker: sharing a big one at The Eddie | Photo: Bielmann/WSL

"The Eddie" can go. Quiksilver, World Surf League (WSL) and the Aikau family have reached an agreement, and the iconic big wave surfing competition will continue uninterrupted.

The contest format remains the same for the 2016/2017 edition. The event will be called on somewhere between December 1st, and February 28th, only if waves reach a minimum size of 20 feet.

"This is a really special day for the Aikau family. We're smiling a lot. We're proud to announce that we're going to have 'The Eddie' this year," revealed Clyde Aikau at a press conference.

"The family is just thrilled that we can continue Eddie, what he is all about, his life legacy to inspire the next generation. The sponsors finally realized that what is important to this family is larger than all the money you could offer the family."

Solomon Aikau, Eddie's brother, also announced an important change in the upcoming 32nd Annual Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational: Keala Kennelly is on the alternate list. But will she ever get a chance to show her skills after being put on the 11th spot of the secondary index?

Maybe not. The Aikau family stresses that they want to preserve what the legend means to Hawaii and to the world - his surfing skills, saving lives, and helping people. Quiksilver is also happy with the outcome.

"We are proud to see the tradition of 'The Eddie' continue without interruption. We have every confidence that WSL's greater involvement in the event this year will only improve The Eddie's reputation as one of the world’s premier surfing contests," added Pierre Agnes, CEO at Quiksilver.

John John Florence won the 2015/2016 Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau in epic conditions. In the past three decades, the competition was only run nine times.

2016/2017 Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational


Aaron Gold
Bruce Irons
Billy Kemper
Dave Wassel
Ezekiel Lau
Garrett McNamara
Grant Baker
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie Mitchell
Jamie O’Brien
Jeremy Flores
John John Florence
Kala Alexander
Kelly Slater
Koa Rothman
Kohl Christensen
Landon McNamara
Makua Rothman
Mark Healey
Mason Ho
Michael Ho
Reef McIntosh
Ross Clarke-Jones
Shane Dorian
Sunny Garcia
Takayuki Wakita
Tom Carroll


Luke Shepardson
Kai Lenny
Nathan Fletcher
Noah Johnson
Nathan Florence
Ramon Navarro
Kealii Mamala
Pedro Calado
Jamie Sterling
Nic Lamb
Keala Kennelly
Danilo Couto
Mark Mathews
Kalani Chapman
Ben Wilkinson
Gabriel Villaran
Damien Hobgood
Kahea Hart
Ryan Hipwood
Carlos Burle
Kyle Shipman
Danny Fuller
Anthony Tashnick
Rusty Long

SurferToday.com uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.