Jeremy Flores: winner of the 2017 Billabong Pipe Masters | Photo: Poullenot/WSL

The 2018 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) will showcase the best competitive surfers on the planet.

There are only 34 spots available in the elite of surfing and, after a long season, the top 22 CT finishers automatically secured their place in the CT. They will be joined by ten Qualifying Series (QS) athletes, plus two WSL wildcards.

It is not sure whether Kelly Slater will accept one of those wildcards, and no one knows if Mick Fanning has plans to retire from professional surfing.

The 2018 Championship Tour will feature ten Brazilian surfers, eight Australian athletes, five American competitors, two Hawaiian surfers, two French wave riders, and single representatives from Portugal, Tahiti, and South Africa.

John John Florence is the defending world champion. The 2018 WSL season kicks off on March 11 with the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast, in Australia.  

2018 Men's Championship Tour | Top 34

1. John John Florence (HAW)
2. Gabriel Medina (BRA)
3. Julian Wilson (AUS)
4. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
5. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
6. Owen Wright (AUS)
7. Kolohe Andino (USA)
8. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
9. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
10. Filipe Toledo (BRA)
11. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
12. Mick Fanning (AUS)
13. Connor O'Leary (AUS)
14. Frederico Morais (POR)
15. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
16. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
17. Kanoa Igarashi (USA)
18. Caio Ibelli (BRA)
19. Michel Bourez (PYF)
20. Conner Coffin (USA)
21. Joan Duru (FRA)
22. Italo Ferreira (BRA)
23. Griffin Colapinto (USA)
24. Jesse Mendes (BRA)
25. Wade Carmichael (AUS)
26. Tomas Hermes (BRA)
27. Yago Dora (BRA)
28. Willian Cardoso (BRA)
29. Keanu Asing (HAW)
30. Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
31. Michael Rodrigues (BRA)
32. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)


33. Kelly Slater (USA)
34. Ian Gouveia (BRA)


Michael February (ZAF)
Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)

Stephanie Gilmore: a veteran of the Women's Championship Tour | Photo: Cestari/WSL

On the women's side, the top 17 will feature six Australian surfers, four athletes from the United States, three Hawaiian competitors, and single representatives from New Zealand, Brazil, and France.

Tyler Wright is the defending world champion.

2018 Women's Championship Tour | Top 17

1. Tyler Wright (AUS)
2. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
3. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
4. Courtney Conlogue (USA)
5. Carissa Moore (HAW)
6. Lakey Peterson (USA)
7. Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
8. Sage Erickson (USA)
9. Johanne Defay (FRA)
10. Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW)
11. Silvana Lima (BRA)
12. Bronte Macaulay (AUS)
13. Coco Ho (HAW)
14. Caroline Marks (USA)
15. Keely Andrew (AUS)
16. Paige Hareb (NZL)


17. Malia Manuel (HAW)


Macy Callaghan (AUS)
Pauline Ado (FRA)
Dimity Stoyle (AUS)
Bianca Buitendag (ZAF)

Top Stories

We can't choose our height, and 80 percent of it is genetic. But if you're into surfing, taller and shorter surfers feel noticeable differences in getting acquainted with boards, paddling for, and riding a wave.

Cole Houshmand and Caitlin Simmers have claimed the 2024 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.

Ryan Crosby is the new chief executive officer (CEO) of the World Surf League (WSL).

Nothing fuels more controversy in and outside the water than awarding scores for waves ridden in competitive surfing.