Toledo's Perfect 10 ignites Mr Price Pro Ballito 2014

July 4, 2014 | Surfing
Filipe Toledo: hang time in South Africa

Tiago Pires, Filipe Toledo, Dillon Perillo, Tim Reyes, Jadson Andre, Adam Melling, Matt Wilkinson and Jack Freestone are in the quarterfinals of the Mr Price Pro Ballito 2014.

Despite breaking his magic board, Toledo put on yet another show-stopping aerial performance, earning his second Perfect 10 point ride of the event.

"I don't have words to describe what I am feeling. I broke that board but I think God helped me to get my backup board and it worked out much better," says Toledo.

Jack Freestone got the better of his American opponent Michael Dunphy. With the lead exchanging hands numerous times Dunphy was defeated in the final seconds when Freestone blasted his way back into first position with a 7.67.

"I'm sick of being patient and waiting until right at the end, it's so scary I'm going to lose all my hair. That was such a close heat with such good waves," tells Freestone.

Australian Matt Wilkinson pulled out his best performance yet to best good friend and fellow Dream Tour campaigner Adrian Buchan, in the day's battle of the goofy-footers.

"It’s kind of annoying coming up against a good friend so early in the competition. If that had been a final, it would have been amazing. Adrian is one of my favourite surfers to watch, so to beat him feels pretty good," concludes Wilkinson.

Mr Price Pro Ballito Round of 16 Results

Tiago Pires (PRT) 11.84 def Dave Cathels (AUS) 10.50
Filipe Toledo (BRA) 19.00 def Caio Ibelli (BRA) 14.94
Dillon Perillo (USA) 14.17 def Torrey Meister (HAW) 12.67
Timmy Reyes (USA) 15.43 def Krystian Kymerson (BRA) 14.26
Jadson Andre (BRA) 13.17 def Tom Whittaker (AUS) 8.17
Adam Melling (AUS) 15.83 def Jeremy Flores (FRA) 15.03
Heat 7: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 14.86 def Adrian Buchan (AUS) 12.17
Heat 8: Jack Freestone (AUS) 15.60 def Michael Dunphy (AUS) 15.10

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019