Top seeds advance in the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach 2013

March 29, 2013 | Surfing
Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach: applying the brakes

Kelly Slater, Joel Parkinson and Mick Fanning have won their Round 1 heats, at the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach 2013, in Australia.

Clean three-to-four foot (1 metre) waves greeted all surfers of the 2013 ASP World Tour. Slater beat Adam Melling, and wildcard Jacob Willcox, in the first rides of the year.

"I switched my equipment back to the Weirdo Ripper, which I rode in the early rounds on the Gold Coast, and it seemed to work really well in those slopey Rincon waves", Slater said.

"I’m committed to the tour this year. I think in the past, I’ve been of two minds – wanting to compete but also wanting to chase swells around the world and that’s why I’ve been hesitant to commit before. This year though, I’m committed and focused on the tour. When I stop competing in a few years, I can chase the swells then".

Joel Parkinson has collected three Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach victories (2004, 2009, 2011) throughout his storied career and continued his impressive run at the iconic break in Round 1.

"Bells is comfortable place for me. It has so much history and I’ve been surfing the waves, Rincon and the Bowl and Winki, my whole life. I love coming back here to compete and feel very at home. Kelly set the pace at the first stop on the Goldy, but there are a lot of crew right in the mix", Parkinson tells.

Parkinson was joined by Gold Coast stablemate and two-time ASP World Champion (2007, 2009) Mick Fanning (AUS), as back-to-back Round 1 victors with Fanning slicing through the morning conditions and directly into Round 3.

Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach 2013 | Round 1 Results

Heat 1: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 13.60, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 13.33, Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.17
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) 14.64, Kai Otton (AUS) 14.43, Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 12.83
Heat 3: Willian Cardoso (BRA) 15.06, Taj Burrow (AUS) 11.33, Kieren Perrow (AUS) 8.16
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS) 14.83, Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 12.34, Oney Anwar (IDN) 7.60
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 16.20, Brett Simpson (USA) 10.20, Jack Perry (AUS) 8.87
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) 18.03, Adam Melling (AUS) 15.50, Jacob Willcox (AUS) 10.17
Heat 7: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 16.33, Adriano de Souza (BRA) 13.60, Tiago Pires (PRT) 11.10
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS) 15.06, Dusty Payne (HAW) 14.20, Damien Hobgood (USA) 13.87
Heat 9: Nat Young (USA) 16.43, Jeremy Flores (FRA) 15.90, Travis Logie (ZAF) 12.20
Heat 10: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 15.47, Michel Bourez (PYF) 13.67, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 12.23
Heat 11: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 17.26, Glenn Hall (IRL) 13.77, Owen Wright (AUS) 13.73
Heat 12: Kolohe Andino (USA) 17.14, C.J. Hobgood (USA) 13.90, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 12.76

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: