Top seeds survive Round 3 of the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast 2014

March 10, 2014 | Surfing
Mick Fanning: white water master

Top seeds have prevailed in Round 3 of the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast 2014, held in three-to-five foot (1-1.5 metre) clean walls, at Snapper Rocks.

Kelly Slater defeated Tiago Pires in a performance that showed exactly why he's won this event four times. Slater wasted no time in asserting his dominance, blasting a 9.07 (out of a possible 10), for a series of razor-sharp carving turns.

"Tiago and I have had a lot of heats together. I don't underestimate Tiago at all. Obviously he has beaten me in really good waves, and I had him out here in the Semifinals a few years ago, so I know he is really good at this wave," says Slater.

Mitch Crews caused the upset of the day when he eliminated Julian Wilsonin. Crews caught the best waves and sealed the heat win with an excellent 8.33 that he clocked for a long grinding Snapper wall that he attacked with snaps and carves all the way down the line.

"I've been dedicated, eating better and looking after myself. I'm confident that I'm as fit as anyone else and it's good to see everyone support me," adds Mitch Crews.

Mick Fanning dispatched Dane Reynolds, in one of the most exciting match-ups of the day. The last few minutes saw a flurry of rides, but deep bottom turns and explosive snaps put Fanning in front with a high-scoring 8.50 to send the Californian packing.

"Coming up against competitors like Dane can ruin your momentum for the rest of the year. It was really tricky out there. Out in the water I felt pretty good at the start. I was lucky enough to get the one near the rock, which allowed me to open up a little bit," concludes Fanning.

Fredrick Patacchia, C.J. Hobgood, Gabriel Medina, Adriano de Souza, Josh Kerr, Nat Young, Miguel Pupo, and Joel Parkinson have also survived the lethal Round 3.

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast Round 3 Results:

Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) 12.93 def. Travis Logie (ZAF) 9.93
Heat 2: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 10.93 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 10.10
Heat 3: Mitch Crews (AUS) 15.16 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 13.76
Heat 4: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 10.20 def. Adam Melling (AUS) 9.96
Heat 5: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.16 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 4.77
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS) 15.83 def. Dane Reynolds (USA) 13.46
Heat 7: Kelly Slater (USA) 16.57 def. Tiago Pires (PRT) 8.67
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 14.00 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 5.33
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) 12.57 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 11.33
Heat 10: Nat Young (USA) 15.17 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 12.60
Heat 11: Miguel Pupo (BRA) 16.20 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 15.90
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 13.66 def. Dion Atkinson (AUS) 13.24

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2019 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers