Tyler Newton claims 2019 Da Hui Backdoor Shootout in epic conditions

January 17, 2019 | Surfing
2019 Da Hui Backdoor Shootout: smile, you're on the podium | Photo: Da Hui

Tyler Newton has taken out the 2019 Da Hui Backdoor Shootout, at Banzai Pipeline, on the North Shore of Oahu.

The prestigious invitation-only event got underway in firing conditions with wave riders competing for honor and prestige across four wave riding divisions: shortboard, longboard, bodysurf and stand-up paddleboard.

The surfer from Kauai put on a clinic performance throughout the event and landed the highest three-wave total. Newton earned himself $40,000.

"I have always dreamed of winning an event at Pipeline. My goal was to get one good wave every single heat, and it worked out. This is crazy! What an honor," expressed Newton.

Jamie O'Brien proved once again why he is one of the finest athletes of all time at Pipeline and finished runner-up.

Keito Matsuoka finished third, but he was widely considered the best barrel rider of the whole contest. The Japanese was the only surfer to lock in a perfect 12 score.

2019 Da Hui Backdoor Shootout | Results

1. Tyler Newton, 31.83
2. Jamie O'Brien, 29.50
3. Keito Matsuoka, 28.84
4. Shota Nakamura, 28.66
5. Bruce Irons, 28.00
6. Kala Grace, 28.84
7. Seth Moniz, 27.01

1. Duane DeSoto, 7.84
2. Keegan Edwards, 7.83
3 .Kai Sallas, 6.17
4. Ned Snow, 5.67
5. Makamae DeSoto, 5.50
6. Kaniela Stewart, 4.67

1. Todd Sells, 14.34
2. Barry Holt, 10.50
3. Kai Santos, 9.50
4. Kealii Punley, 8.67
5. Duane DeSoto, 6.67
6. Haoli Reeves, 6.00

1. Mo Freitas, 13.83
2. Tehotu Wong, 10.67
3. Zane Schweizer, 9.50
4. Bullet Obra, 8.33
5. Pomai Hoopili, 7.00

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2022 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers