Wave action is back at the Rip Curl Pro Search Portugal

October 24, 2009 | Surfing

Owen Wright

With clean three foot (1 metre) peaks on offer at the second backup site of Belgas this morning, the Rip Curl Pro Search has been called on with Round 2 hitting the water at 8:45am.

Stop No. 9 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Rip Curl Pro Search is operating in its third different venue this morning, having ran the first half of Round 1 in the wedging righthanders of Molhe Leste on Wednesday before completing the round in offshore lefts at Lagido yesterday.

While winds at the primary site of Supertubos have been unfavorable, today’s conditions at Belgas, combined with one of the most exciting Round 2 draws of the season, provide the setting for an incredible day of action.

“We have clean peaks on offer this morning around three-foot (1 metre) at Belgas and we’re planning on starting at 8:45am,” Damien Hardman, Rip Curl Pro Search Contest Director, said. “We’ll be monitoring conditions and tides throughout the day, but we’d like to run as many heats as possible.”

The underdogs have ran rampant thus far at the Rip Curl Pro Search, but today’s Round 2 action will see the top seeds take to the water, making for some of the most exciting match-ups seen all year.

Today will play a pivotal role in the race for the 2009 ASP World Title. Kelly Slater (USA), 37, reigning nine-time ASP World Champion and current ASP World No. 6, will take on lethal wildcard Owen Wright (AUS), 19, in Heat 9, Joel Parkinson (AUS), 28, current ASP World No. 2, will face another wildcard in Bruno Santos (BRA), 26, in Heat 8, and Mick Fanning (AUS), 28, former ASP World Champion (2007) and current ASP World No. 1, will battle replacement surfer Patrick Gudauskas (USA), 23, in Heat 13.

Up first this morning will be former ASP World Champion (2001), C.J. Hobgood (USA), 30, battling 2009 ASP World Tour rookie Nathaniel Curran (USA), 25, in the opening heat of Round 2.

Heat 1: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Nathaniel Curran (USA)
Heat 2: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 3: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 4: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Marlon Lipke (DEU)
Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Nic Muscroft (AUS)
Heat 6: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)
Heat 7: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Bruno Santos (BRA)
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)
Heat 10: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Dean Morrison (AUS)
Heat 11: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Michael Picon (FRA)
Heat 12: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Greg Emslie (ZAF)
Heat 13: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 14: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 15: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 16: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Tim Reyes (USA)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019