Wipeouts of the year get XXL stamp

April 15, 2013 | Surfing
Joao de Macedo: fearless Portuguese DNA

Axi Muniain, Brett Burcher, Chris Shanahan, Joao de Macedo and Tom Dosland have been named for the best/worst wipeouts of the year.

Five heavy beatings. The 2013 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards highlighted the toughest wipeouts of the season. The nominees have suffered dangerous falls at The Right, Mavericks, Jaws and Nazaré.

In contention are five surfers at four notorious big wave breaks sprinkled around the world. Brett Burcher and Chris Shanahan suffered horrendous missteps at a viciously shallow break, in Western Australia, known simply as The Right.

Joao De Macedo launched into space at Mavericks, in Northern California. Tom Dosland got the nomination for skimming on his back down the face of a huge wave at Jaws, Hawaii and Axi Muniain for an aquatic reverse-somersault at Nazaré, Portugal.

The winners of the 2013 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards will be revealed on the 3rd May.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: