Kelly Slater, 2008 ASP World Champion

Kelly Slater is the new 2008 ASP World Championship!

The American surfer got through to Round 4, which means the 9th place in the Billabong Pro Mundaka and the minimum needed to clinch the title.

In the Round 3, the eight-time World Champion defeated Eneko Acer in the three-to-five foot waves of the Basque country, in Spain.

Kelly Slater is 36 years old. He was born on the 11th February 1972, in Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA.

Besides surfing, Kelly Slater enjoys playing golf, music and fishing.

His favorite surfers are Tom Curren, Tom Carroll, Mark Occhilupo, Martin Potter, Andy Irons and Shane Dorian.

Kelly Slater is the new ASP World Champion

Royden Bryson

Mundaka, one of the world’s best lefthand breaks, redeemed itself today. The at-times fickle river-mouth spit out enough four to five foot waves to host 20 heats of ASP World Tour action in just seven hours thanks to the ASP Dual Heat format which allows for overlapping heats.

South Africa’s Royden Bryson was the day’s biggest victor, beating renowned barrel-rider Damien Hobgood (USA) 19.37 to 17.26 after out tube-riding him.

“I’m just super stoked,” Bryson said. “You sit here all day and wonder if you are going to get a chance to surf out there when the waves are good and the tide is right and then in my heat with Damien everything came together. We both got really good waves, I think I was just fortunate to pick the better ones."

Bryson earned the first perfect 10 of his career in the heat – just moments after posting a 9.73 – leaving Hobgood comboed despite the 8.83 and 8.43 in his scoreline.

"Nevermind the World Tour, that was my first perfect 10 even in a provincial contest,” Bryson said. “It’s a bit of a blur but I just remember taking off and pulling into the first section and watching the whole wave kind of slow up like it was standing still. I just kept going and going and then I think I did a turn and got another little barrel."

The second-year surfer currently sits 34th on the ratings – only the top 27 surfers requalify at year’s end. Bryson has yet to make it out of Round 3 and is not backing up his ASP World Tour campaign on the ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS).

Read more ...

Freewave Challenge

After three full months of incredible surfing where every wave by every surfer at every surf spot on the Mainland USA was up for consideration, the hottest video clips of the summer season have been narrowed down to the finalists in the latest round of the Billabong Freewave Challenge.

The amazing performances of the finalists highlight the diversity of surfing in America, with powerful representation from the East, West and Gulf Coasts. All three produced classic waves this summer and provided the canvas for brilliant surfing from both world champs and local heroes alike.

The surfers were equally diverse in their backgrounds, with finalists hailing from locales ranging from North Carolina to Florida to California to Hawaii to Australia.  Top surfing videographers around the nation captured the action as it happened all summer and uploaded the visual proof to the Freewave website for public analysis.

$40,000 is up for grabs -- surfers will share $31,700 while the shooters will pocket $8,300 for their role in documenting the state of the art in surfing this summer.

Over 150 video clips were entered in the Billabong Freewave virtual free surfing competition.  The finalists were selected based on public popularity combined with the input of a selection committee.

The ultimate placings will now be decided over the next two weeks by the votes of a large panel consisting of the surfers and videographers themselves and the writers and editors of surfing media worldwide. The final rankings will be announced starting October 15, 2008.

MONSTER MANEUVER finalists: ($15,700 total prize money)    
     Ryan Carlson, 540 Rodeo at Huntington Beach, California. Video by DSG
     Aaron Cormican, Air Reverse at Gulf Coast, Florida. Video by Jerry Ricotti
     Mason Ho, Backside 360 Air at Huntington Beach, California. Video by DSG
     Zach Rhinehart, McTwist     at Oceanside, California. Video by Boost Video
     Cody Thompson, Alley Oop Plus at Lower Trestles, California. Video by Evan Thompson

SMALL FRIES/16 AND UNDER finalists ($8,150 total prize money)         
     Kolohe Andino at Lower Trestles, California. Video by Chris Gabriel
     Luke Davis at Lower Trestles, California. Video by Chris Gabriel
     Andrew Doheny at Lower Trestles, California. Video by Noah Alani

BEST BARREL finalists ($8,150 total prize money)
     Jesse Hines at the Outer Banks, North Carolina. Video by Joe Cheshire
     Zander Morton on the Gulf Coast, Florida. Video by Jerry Ricotti
     Geoff Moysa at Newport Beach, California. Video by Shorescrew/Lugo Lugo

HEARTBREAKER/FEMALE PERFORMANCE finalists ($6,300 total prize money)
     Claire Bevilacqua, Backside air at Encinitas, California. Video by Chris Grant
     Carissa Moore, Multiple moves at Lower Trestles, California. Video by Chris Moore
     Carissa Moore, Air at Lower Trestles, California. Video by Chris Moore

LONGEST RIDE finalists ($1,700 winner take all)
     Ashley Lloyd at Santa Cruz, California. Video by Chris Grant
     Marc Moore at Malibu, California. Video by Kelly Cox
     Kelly Nicely at Cardiff Reef, California. Video by Chris Grant

When you reach the "End of the Road," you're all by yourself. Are you sure you're ready to get barreled at Tahiti's infamous Teahupoo?

+ Bodyboarding News

Isaac Thomas owns an interesting collection of rare skimboarding DVDs. They document the evolution of the sport since the turn of the millennium.

+ Skimboarding News

Cory Teunissen and Sean Silveira have taken out the third stop on the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), in Mooresville, North Carolina.

+ Wakeboarding News