ASP Women 2008

The best female surfers in the world are diligently preparing for the opening event of the 2008 ASP Women’s World Tour season, the Roxy Pro Gold Coast, running from Feb. 23 through Mar. 6, 2008.

Chelsea Georgeson (AUS), former ASP Women’s World Champion and defending Roxy Pro Champion, will be absent from competition this season as she prepares for the birth of her first child.  Georgeson’s absence ensures that the Roxy Pro will see a new champion this year and the ASP Top 17 will all be vying for a solid result to kick start their respective 2008 campaigns.

Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), reigning ASP Women’s World Champion and into her sophomore season on the Dream Tour, won the Roxy Pro Gold Coast as a wildcard in 2005, finished equal 5th place last year.  The phenomenal natural-footer will be looking to open up her ASP World Title defense this season will a solid finish in her home beaches of the Gold Coast.

“I’ve just been relaxing a lot and I suppose I am still taking it all in from last year’s win,” Gilmore said.  “I’m pretty confident heading into the Roxy Pro as it’s right here at home, and I have just been surfing a lot – surfing a lot at Snapper and a bit at D’Bah.  I’ve just got a fresh batch of boards from my shaper, Darren Handley, so I’ve been working pretty hard at getting those sorted out.”

Read more ...

Pancho Sullivan

Hawaii’s Pancho Sullivan wiped out the opposition to claim his second Monster Energy Pipeline Pro, presented by Billabong, at Backdoor Pipe today in barreling waves of six to eight feet (wave face heights).

Posting a perfect 10-point tube ride as well as the highest heat score of the event - 18.75 points out of 20, in the 30-minute final, his three rivals were all left in need of a combination of scores to turn the tables.

The win earned Sullivan $7,000 and 875 World Qualifying Series ratings points. Pancho first won this event back in 2005, a result that catapulted him onto the elite ASP World Championship Tour (WCT).

While the waves were not trademark Pipeline by any standards, they allowed Sullivan to prove he’s not just a big-wave power surfer but a threat to contend with in all quality conditions.

He had plenty of opportunity to build momentum and show his worth after denying a main round seed and surfing all the way through from the trials here. By the conclusion of today’s final, Sullivan had contested a total of eight heats - more than any other surfer in the event.

An all-Hawaii affair, second and third place went to fellow WCT surfers Fred Patacchia (14.25 points) and Roy Powers (9.1 points) respectively, with Dustin Barca fourth (6.5 points).

"Conditions were super difficult so my plan was just to chip away," said Sullivan. "With the incoming swell the smaller waves offered more open face, so my aim was to get a decent score and build on that. A lot of times it boils down to being lucky and getting the right waves."

On starting from the trials: "There is so much luck involved. I was just fortunate I didn’t get skunked. I was pretty wave-starved in the semi’s. But I was looking forward to getting as many heats as possible under my beld before the WCT starts. This is a great opportunity to prepare and train."

Patacchia was surprised to keep his grip on second place after giving up 20 minutes into the heat once he realized there was no catching Pancho. Fred opted to leave the water and trade in his surfboard for a pink bodyboard, apparently not concerned by the threat of injury or losing money by dropping his position in the heat. When he wiped out heavily on that, he took to bodysurfing the barrel.

"The thought of injury and money didn’t even enter my mind," said Patacchia. "I was all about the win, so once I saw Pancho had it, I was done."

Neither Powers nor Barca managed to secure decent rides in the last 10 minutes of the heat and Patacchia remained at second for $3,500. Powers earned $2,500 and Barca $2,000.

Along with the prize money, 14 wildcards into the coveted Billabong Pipeline Masters next December were on offer to locals in this event. Sullivan, Patacchia and Powers did not need to take up the offer, already guaranteed of a start through their WCT status.

Fourth placed Barca will get a start, along with other highly placed surfers in the event including TJ Barron, Marcus Hickman, Makuakai Rothman, Daniel Jones, Jesse Merle-Jones, Nathan Carroll, Ian Walsh, Kekoa Bacalso and Ola Eleogram. (Complete list not available at time of release.)

Eleogram also received the Todd Chesser Sportsmanship Award today, selected for his never-say-die spirit during the event. Eleogram finished equal ninth overall, losing in the quarterfinals.

The highest placed non-Hawaii surfers were Matt Mohagen (CA), Devon Tresher (Florida) and Brazilian Dantas Wiggolly, all of whom placed equal 13th with fourth place quarterfinal finishes. The top Australian finisher was Anthony Walsh, who fell one round short of the quarterfinals for equal 25th place.

The Association of Surfing Professionals now heads to Australia for the start of the World Championship Tour. The next professional event in Hawaii will be next winter.

Source: ASP World Tour

Surf Rider Foundation

Yesterday was a great day for the coast! The California Coastal Commission voted 8-2 to reject the planned 241 Toll Road and to protect Trestles and San Onofre State Beach.

Thousands turned out for this historic meeting in Del Mar, making it clear to the commissioners that the destruction of state parks and coastal resources is unacceptable.

The record-breaking crowd was comprised of a diverse cross-section of beach users including surfers, students, families, seniors, fishermen as well as a large number of Native American tribal representatives. Also on hand was a massive contingent from the surf industry, including various manufacturers, shapers, media representatives and pro athletes.

“Our supporters have logged countless volunteer hours on this campaign over the last several years,” said Moriarty. “Last night’s decision was an incredible affirmation for their efforts, and a testament to the power of grassroots activism.”

Many of you sent letters to the Commission and to the Governor asking that this road be blocked.  Many of you told the Commission on YouTube to protect our state park and beach.  And many of you showed up to the meeting prepared to demonstrate to the commission and the world that our parks and coasts are not to be destroyed.

Of course Surfrider Foundation didn't do this alone.  We want to thank our partners with the Sierra Club, CA State Parks Foundation, Natural Resources Defense Council, Endangered Habitats League, Sea and Sage Audubon Society, Defenders of Wildlife, WildCoast and countless others. 

While this decision is likely not the death knell for the toll road we would like, there will be a major uphill battle for them to overcome.  We will be there at every step to trip them up and we will need your continuing support.  If you haven't, please consider joining Surfrider Foundation and getting involved in your local chapter.

Source: Surfrider Foundation

Finn McGill and Vahine Fierro claimed the 2017 World Surf League (WSL) World Junior Championship at Bombo Beach, New South Wales, Australia.

+ Surfing News

Are you an avid bodyboard magazine collector? Do you miss reading the good, old boogie periodicals? Here's the complete list of worldwide bodyboarding publications.

+ Bodyboarding News

Nico von Lerchenfeld has had the time of his life at Surf Snowdonia, in Wales. But he was not there to surf.

+ Wakeboarding News