Surf City USA

The city's visitors bureau have guaranteed its exclusive Surf City USA trademark, ending a legal battle with a Santa Cruz shop owner who sued them over the brand use. Huntington Beach City reached a settlement with Santa Cruz, after a dispute reignited in 2004.

The Surf City USA brand began as a concept proposed at a brand discovery workshop of the Huntington Beach Conference and Visitors Bureau on July 20, 2004.

At the time, workshop participants felt that the City's official nickname, "Surf City" - representing the idealized Southern California beach town celebrated in a Jan and Dean song by the same title - represented a potential brand position that could be used to promote the city.

Read more ...

Kiron Jabour

It was a godsend for junior pro surfers in Hawaii for the No Fear/Koastal Kaos Pro Junior presented by Hard Rock. Sunset was striking to watch as 8-12 foot sets rolled into the line-up, shifting their peaks and heaving the 20 and under surfers into drops of their lives!

No problem for Hawaii’s Kiron Jabour who scored a 6.25 and 7.5 solidly taking out the rest of the contingent in the 30 minute final and staking his claim to qualify for the World Jr. Championship.

“It was the best Sunset for a contest and really important to qualify”, said Jabour happily. Brazilian born Jabour has lived in Hawaii since he was 4 years old and flies the Hawaiian flag,

“I love Brazil but Hawaii is my home and it feels so good to do well here and at Sunset this big. My main goal is to get seeded into the WQS (ASP world qualifying series) events.” Jabour takes home $2,000.00 for the win and bragging rights for a long, long time.

Another Hawaiian, Tyler Newton from Hanalei, Kauai grabbed second place and the opportunity to transition into the pro ranks. “It was perfect pumping Sunset, big, and I was a bit scared”, said the 17 year old.

“I had a good rhythm all day though. In the final I had one really late air drop, I was riding a 6’8.” Newton scored a 6.5 and 6.85 earning him a check for $900.00. Snagging the third spot was Brazil’s Jeronimo Vargas scoring a 7.65 and a 4.25.

“It was the best surf ever for a contest”, said Vargas. “ I had some bad luck (in the final), I was focusing on the west set because I got a 9.0 there earlier.” In fourth place was Marco Giorgi with two 5.5 rides awarded.

Hawaii’s Granger Larson and defending champion Mason Ho took highest wave score honors with a 9.50 score each. Torrey Meister was close behind with a 9.45 awarded. Larsen also scored highest heat total with a 17.50. John John Florence and finalist Marco Giorgi tied with a 17.00 total heat score. In equal 7th place were Keale Chung and John John Florence. Equal 5th went to Billy Kemper and Kyle Ramey.

No Fear is committed to supporting amateur surfing and creating a better bridge between amateur and professional surfing. In addition to serving as the title sponsor of the NSSA’s East Coast, West Coast and National Championship Series, the company sponsors the Koastal Kaos Amateur Surf Series in California and Hawaii.

The top two surfers in the Koastal Kaos Amateur Surf Series’ Open Men’s Division and the top Junior competitor will earn wild cards in the 1-Star Koastal Kaos WQS event May 7-11 at Oceanside Harbor in California.

Source: ASP World Tour

Freewave Challenge

The greatest surfing performances of the Hawaiian winter were honored today as the finalists were announced in the first Freewave Challenge presented by Billabong.

Five nominees per category were revealed in a pair of event divisions - the Best Tube Ride and the Best Performance Ride - culled from over 120 video clips submitted of every good day on the North Shore of Oahu during the months of October, November and December. The finalist clips can be viewed at the event website at

The Nominees for Best Performance Ride are:

Kalani Chapman (Hawaii), Huge Air to Layback at Rocky Point, video by Joe Alani
Jamie O'Brien (Hawaii), Freak Out Turn at Backdoor, video by Kendall O'Brien
Jamie O'Brien (Hawaii), Rodeo Flip at Off-The-Wall, video by Pete Frieden & Graham Nash
Jordy Smith (South Africa), Two Hand Air at Off-The-Wall, video by Graham Nash
Sterling Spencer (Florida), Backside Air Reverse 360 at Rocky Point, video by Talon Clemow

The Nominees for Best Tube Ride are:

Sunny Garcia (Hawaii), Long Pit at Backdoor Pipeline, video by Yasuo Maeda & Surfline
Garrett McNamara (Hawaii), Stand Up Paddle at Pipeline, video by Yasuo Maeda
Timmy Reyes (California), Big One at Backdoor Pipeline, video by Pete Frieden, Graham Nash & Surfline
Jordy Smith (South Africa), Long Tube and Carve at Gums, video by Tyler Rock & Surfline
Anthony Walsh (Australia), No Hand Backside at Off-The-Wall, video by Pete Frieden

The finalists were selected based on a combination of popularity by the viewing public and input from entered surfers and videographers. The final rankings of the top five nominees in each category will be voted on by a large academy of surfing experts including all the surfers and videographers in the event plus many top surfing journalists from around the world.  Ballots will go out to the academy later this week.

Not surprisingly, local Hawaiian surfers emerged with five out of the ten nominations, including Jamie O'Brien, who has two different futuristic maneuvers up for the Performance Award.

Other North Shore residents up for consideration include Kalani Chapman for a huge air, Sunny Garcia for a long barrel, and Garrett McNamara for his unique backside tube ride at Pipeline on a huge Stand-Up Paddle (SUP) board caught using an oar.

South African phenom Jordy Smith has been nominated in both event categories for a long, pumping tube ride and for a smooth double-grab aerial maneuver. Other overseas contenders include one of the bigger barrels of the season by Timmy Reyes of Huntington Beach, California and an aerial 360 reverse maneuver by Gulf Coast surfer Sterling Spencer of Pensacola, Florida.

Hard-charging Anthony Walsh of New South Wales, Australia was nominated for a smooth backside no-hands tube ride.

The final rankings will be counted down from fifth to first places beginning February 1, 2008. Surfers and videographers will share $40,000 in prize money including the first place surfer check in the amount of $9,999.99. Full rules, format details and judging criteria are available on the website. All 120 original entries are also still available for viewing at the Freewave Video Hub at

Source: FreeWave Challenge

Nic Rapa and Sean Silveira have taken out the second event of the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), held at Lake Allatoona's Dallas Landing Park, in Acworth, Georgia.

+ Wakeboarding News