Daniel Grant steals the show at the Miami Watersports Complex

March 31, 2015 | Wakeboarding
Wake Park Triple Crown: tricky air game | Photo: MWC/Matt Roy

Daniel Grant has taken out the first stop of the 2015 Monster Energy Wake Park Triple Crown, held at the Miami Watersports Complex.

The event series debuted a new "Best Trick" division, in a spectacular weekend of high-performance wakeboarding. Chandler Powell, Jimmy LaRiche, Yonel Cohen, and Tom Fooshee threw down their gnarliest tricks into a kicker to the delight of the crowd.

Jimmy tried several huge method backside 180s before finally stomping it as the last trick of the contest. However, he was ultimately edged out by Chandler Powell's equally huge and unique toeside shifty backside 540.

In the Pro Men's contest, Graeme Burress edged out Chandler Powell in the semifinals in what will probably go down as the closest point differential in the Wake Park Triple Crown history. Graeme couldn't convert that semifinal magic into a strong enough performance to make the podium though.

The top spot was taken by the one and only Daniel Grant, who showed that he continues to be one of the best all-around park riders in the world with his mix of tech, style, and fluidity in his riding.

In the wakeskate division, Dieter Humpsch, Andrew Fortenberry, and Nick Taylor all rode in the finals, but none could knock off Daniel Grant, who grabbed his second first place spot of the weekend.

2015 Monster Energy Wake Park Triple Crown | Miami Watersports Complex

Pro Men
1. Daniel Grant
2. James Windsor
3. Tom Fooshee

Pro Wakeskate
1. Daniel Grant
2. Andrew Fortenberry
3. Nick Taylor

Pro Women
1. Courtney Angus
2. Sophie Hogben
3. Taylor McCullough

Best Trick
1. Chandler Powell
2. Jimmy Lariche
3. Tom Fooshee