Daniel Grant storms the Wake The Line 2016

August 30, 2016 | Wakeboarding
Daniel Grant: he stormed the Wake The Line 2016 | Photo: Liquid Force

Daniel Grant has smashed the Wake The Line 2016, at Cologne, Germany.

The event showcased 24 of the best wakeboarders and wakeskaters on the planet in front of a sold-out arena with more than 10,000 screaming fans.

The spectacular venue designed and built by UNIT Parktech featured multiple obstacles and invited riders to add creativity to their runs. There were incline boxes and a truck with a bottle on top.

Despite suffering a minor head injury, Daniel Grant stormed the system with a flawless and ambitious performance and took out both divisions.

"It's absolutely insane that Wake The Line is back here in Cologne. The best way to wrap it up with a double win here. It's my Wake The Line dream come true since I was 12. Couldn't be a better day for me here," said the British-Thai wakeboarder.

Raph Derome (2013, 2012, 2010), Nico von Lerchenfeld (2011), Keith Lidberg (2009) and Peter-Pascal Schmidt (2008) are the previous winners of Wake The Line.

Wake The Line 2016 | Finals

1. Daniel Grant (THA)
2. Raph Derome (CAN)
3. Nico von Leichenfeld (GER)

1. Daniel Grant (THA)
2. Austin Pastura (USA)
3. Andy Kolb (GER)