Gold medals delivered at the Waterski and Wakeboard World Cup Indonesia

November 27, 2012 | Wakeboarding
Chris Parrish: wake style

William Asher, Harley Clifford and Freddy Krueger have tasted gold at the 35th Waterski and Wakeboard World Cup, held at Palembang City, Indonesia.

The finals produced some of the most competitive performances ever seen in Slalom, Jump and Wakeboard. Seven out of 24 countries captured the coveted World Cup titles to bring this season to a successful conclusion.

The Men's Slalom finals were unique. Britain's William Asher was third into the arena and his score of five buoys on 11.25m line took an early lead. The World Record Holder, Chris Parrish, was last to compete.

Although he scored a solid four buoys on the 11.25m line, that was not enough to prevent Asher from taking the 2012 Palembang World Cup Slalom Gold Medal.
This was his first World Cup title. Third place saw a draw between the two Italian Slalom specialists, Thomas Degasperi and Carlo Alais.

In Wakeboard Pro Men, Harley Clifford continued his extraordinary run of World Cup successes. What remained was a fascinating battle between the young sixteen year-old Tony Iacconi from Australia’s New South Wales, and the experienced past World Champion Andrew Adkison from Florida, USA.

On this occasion, it was the teenager Iacconi who came out on top with the Silver Medal, just ahead of Adkison.

In Waterski Jumping, the Men's World Record Holder, Freddy Krueger, was last off the dock in the finals. All assumed that he would dominate as he has done so often.

It was Felipe Miranda who set the early pace with a distance of 59.7m. This was quickly beaten by Ryan Dodd, who had all the appearances of true winner with a score of 62.4m.

However, although he failed to beat Dodd with his first two attempts, in the closing seconds of the day, to add to the drama, Freddy Krueger did it once again with a distance of 63.6m to take the Gold Medal. Silver went to Dodd and Bronze to Miranda.

35th Waterski & Wakeboard World Cup | Results


1. William Asher
2. Chris Parrish
3. Thomas Degasperi and Carlo Alais

Wakeboard Pro

1. Harley Clifford
2. Tony Iacconi
3. Andrew Adkison

Waterski Jumping

1. Freddy Krueger
2. Ryan Dodd
3. Felipe Miranda

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: