Harley Clifford crowned Nautique Wake Series 2014 champion

August 26, 2014 | Wakeboarding
Nautique Wake Series 2014: flying down the line | Photo: Nautique

Harley Clifford has claimed the Nautique Wake Series 2014, after winning the Wake Open, the last event of the season, at the Orlando Watersports Complex.

Brian Grubb, Clifford, Meagan Ethell and Parker Siegele wrapped up the Nautique Wake Series overall titles in their respected divisions.

The Pro Men's final saw Harley Clifford, Rusty Malinoski, Tony Carroll, Shota Tezuka, Noah Flegel and Phil Soven going for broke.

After the first round of riding, Clifford would have his eye on the podium already with Malinoski and Tezuka looking to take him down. In the end, Clifford's initial pass would prove to be unbeatable, leaving him in the number one spot.

In the Pro Wakeskate finals, a points race for the Nautique Wake Series overall title was closer than any other division. Grubb had 290 points and Reed Hansen with 280 points right behind him coming into the event.

With tons of overall prize money on the line, Grubb and Hansen let it all hang out, absolutely gunning for the win. With a few uncanny falls from the points leaders and unreal tricks from long-time wakeskate legend, Danny Hampson, the podium would reign: Danny Hampson - first, Brian Grubb - second, and Reed Hansen - third.

Grubb would hang onto the top spot of the Nautique Wake Series overall title, with Hansen and Hampson in second and third respectfully.

The Pro Women's finals featured Meagan Ethell, Melissa Marquardt and Dallas Friday fighting for glory. Ethell was comprised, almost flawless, and took the Nautique Wake Series 2014 title.

Nautique Wake Series 2014 Final Rankings

1. Harley Clifford
2. Rusty Malinoski
3. Philip Soven
4. Dean Smith
5. JD Webb
6. Josh Twelker
7. Noah Flegel
8. Jimmy Lariche
9. Joshua Palma
10. Austin Hair

SurferToday.com uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.