Mike Dowdy: the 2016 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour champion | Photo: Bill Doster

Mike Dowdy has been crowned the 2016 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT) champion.

The rider from Pinckney, Michigan, was third in the final stage of the longest-running professional circuit in wakeboarding held in Precedent Office Park, Indianapolis. "Dirty" Dowdy took out three of the five PWT contests.

The finals were tense - Mike Dowdy and Tony Iacconi only had five points separating them in the overall rankings, so any mistake would cost the season's title.

However, Dowdy proved he was too focused to let go; no one would stop him from conquering his first-ever PWT title. In the end, Cory Teunissen landed a double half-cab roll and won the event.

"What a day" I can't believe I just won the overall Pro Wakeboard Tour! It was a heavy battle with Tony Iacconi all season long. Your hard work is amazing and so proud of you," expressed Dowdy.

"Thanks to all the people who provided this platform and thanks to the people that have a helping hand building this dream. Wanted to get this done before 25. I did it at 22!"

Noah Flegel, who also competed in the wakeboard division, won the overall wakesurf title. Nic Rapa was named the 2016 Rookie of the Year.

2016 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour | Precedent Office Park, Indianapolis

Men's Wakeboard
1. Cory Teunissen - 96.83
2. Nic Rapa - 95.67
3. Mike Dowdy - 95.23
4. Tony Iacconi - 94.50
5. Noah Flegel - 84.00
6. Rusty Malinoski - 60.00

Men's Wakesurf
1. Parker Payne - 88.6
2. Noah Flegel - 80.5
3. Aaron Witherell - 67.2