Tonky Frans: setting the benchmark in Lanzarote

Tonky Frans managed to beat the fragile wind conditions to win the EFPT Lanzarote 2014, in Costa Teguise.

In the last day of competition, and with minimum wind speed to pull a few freestyle tricks, sailors tried to give it a go. Unfortunately, the conditions weren't sufficient, and the heat was cancelled.

The tow-in final got underway with ten qualified riders: Steven Van Broeckhoven, Amado Vrieswijk, Dieter Van der Eyken, Mattia Fabrizi, Tonky Frans, Adam Sims, Yentel Caers, Hugo de Sousa, Nicolas Akgazciyan and Rick Jendrusch.

Tonky Frans pulled a perfectly executed skopu to grab maximum points for style, on some of the judging sheets. With a high score of 50 points, Frans set the benchmark for the final clash.

Van Broeckhoven's air-funnel into burner into the event photographer Eric Bellande stole everyone's breath but luckily, he wore his helmet and had the camera in a water case.

Dieter Van der Eyken popped through a double air-funnel, while Amado Vrieswijk went for a rare double culo in tow-in.

Hugo de Sousa hit the water at full speed to claim the wipeout of the event. The Brazilian tore a muscle in his neck, but he went out straight again and wanted to have another go.

EFPT Lanzarote 2014 Results

1. Tonky Frans
2. Steven Van Broeckhoven
3. Dieter Van der Eyken
4. Yentel Caers
5. Adam Sims

Are you on a week-long beach holiday? Have you bought bodyboard for your kid? Smart move. Get ready to introduce your offspring to the waves easily and safely. It is going to be fun.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News

Nico von Lerchenfeld has had the time of his life at Surf Snowdonia, in Wales. But he was not there to surf.

+ Wakeboarding News