Kevin Pritchard: he scored the biggest aerial of the competition | Photo: Luckybeanz/AWT

Kevin Pritchard has conquered the 2015 Baja Desert Showdown, at Punta San Carlos, in Mexico.

The fourth stop on the American Windsurfing Tour has crowned a Pro champion in the last and decisive day of the waiting period. The four-man final included Kevin McGillivray, Ian Mouro, Boujmaa Guilloul and Pritchard.

There were plenty of head-to-half mast high waves to be ridden. Mouro started well and found a couple of seven-point waves. Guilloul answered with a rail grab aerial, flowing turns and two more aerials.

But Pritchard knew he had to do something to steal the show and keep the title hopes alive. As a result, the American windsurfer eyed a set wave and launched into the most spectacular aerial of the entire competition. He'd just secured an 8.50-point ride.

The Moroccan tried to respond, but it was too late. Kevin Pritchard had won in Baja California, and the title race couldn't be closer. Next stop: Pacasmayo, in Peru.

2015 Baja Desert Showdown | Pro Final

1. Kevin Pritchard
2. Boujmaa Guilloul
3. Ian Mouro
4. Kevin McGillivray

Surfing at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games will take place in the ocean, not in a wave pool. The waiting period runs from July 24 to August 9.

+ Surfing News

It's almost finals' day at Playa Llacolén. The 2018 Antofagasta Bodyboard Festival (ABF) continues in La Cupula, one of the finest boogie waves in Chile.

+ Bodyboarding News

Nic Rapa and Sean Silveira have taken out the second event of the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), held at Lake Allatoona's Dallas Landing Park, in Acworth, Georgia.

+ Wakeboarding News