Trofeo Princesa Sofia: the Spanish Royal family is watching you

The medallists were decided today at Trofeo SAR Princesa Sofia Mapfre, Palma, Spain, the third regatta of the 2009-10 ISAF Sailing World Cup. Alessandra Sensini scooped the overall trophy in her first competition on the RS:X since the 2008 Olympic Sailing Competition.

For the second consecutive year the overall winner came from the Women's RS:X fleet. Alessandra Sensini (ITA) put in a dominant performance, only once finishing a race outside the top five.

In second place was 2009 World and European Champion, Marina Alabau (ESP), with the bronze medal going to the 2008 Olympic bronze medallist Bryony Shaw from Great Britain. Sensini's goal was to be among the top five, “I started training again not so long ago and surprisingly I have won”, she said. Alabau's silver medal takes her to the top of the ISAF Sailing World Cup standings just ahead of Laura Linares (ITA) who finished just outside the medals in fourth.

There were big changes to the final positions in the Men’s RS:X fleet with Shahar Zubari (ISR) stepping off the podium after finishing eighth in the Medal Race to finish fourth overall just one point adrift of the bronze medallist Dorian Van rijsselberge (NED) who claimed second in the final race.

van Rijsselberge's silver also gives him an eight point lead in the world cup standings. Overall victory went to Byron Kokalanis (GRE) with 37 points followed by Tom Ashley from New Zealand.

Do you want to impress a future surfer? Is your kid into surfing? Discover the coolest surf-inspired toys for playing at home or outside.

+ Surfing News

Origami is the ancient art of paper folding. Kites were probably invented in China around 500 BC. Let's blend both crafts and make a simple, high-flying Origami kite.

+ Kiteboarding News

On November 26, 2018, the World Surf League (WSL) suspended the iconic Peahi Challenge, in Maui. Why? There was too much wind, and the conditions were too gnarly for big wave surfing.

+ Windsurfing News