2010 Danish Kona Cup: inaugural success

The first 2010 Danish Kona Cup is history, and a good one it was, with 28 competitors in conditions from 5 to 20 knots. A mixed fleet of ex European champions, PWA and slalom sailors as well as a good portion of intermediate beginners had signed up for the first Danish longboard battle of the season.

The event set the standard for future Kona events with action packed starts, absolute one design – no pumping – tricky, tactical upwind legs and wild reaches. Fair and exiting sailing in true Kona spirit.

Four races were sailed, and the longboard legend Tim Aagesen again snatched the victory – one point ahead of the new Danish express, Mads Ring.

The social activities were equally successful, with cold beers and BB’s at the after sailing party, which later easily could have been mistaken for a true Viking Hawaiian extravaganza.

The Kona again proved its true self as a pure tactical racing class, with equal opportunities for all.

In surfing, full rotations are relatively rare. However, when performed correctly, they often leave an exclamation mark on the wave. Learn how to pull off the frontside reverse 360.

+ Surfing News

Jarryd Wingfield, one of the most talented bodyboarders in the United Kingdom, has taken his own life. He was battling depression.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News