Boracay International Funboard Cup: intense racing

Great winds marked the 22th edition of the Boracay International Funboard Cup, in the Philippines. Intense races, cool parties and outstanding windsurfing performances boosted the island's reputation as a premier wind sport destination.

There were 30-knot winds for most of the event, held in the Bulabog Beach. More than 100 competitors from 27 countries took part in the Boracay International Funboard Cup. Kitesurfing contests were also pumping the island and alternating with the windsurfing races.

"In the previous year, the kitesurfing event was held on the opposite side of the lagoon. This year, people got even more together and each tribe of riders really appreciated sharing the beach with one another and watching each other compete. This reminds us that kiteboarders and windsurfers are part of the same big family. I think those two sports are actually complimentary to one another", said Fabrice Beaux.

Fabrice Beaux in the Masters category, Reneric Moreno in the Men's division and Rolando Francisco in the Grand Master contest were the winners of the 2011 Funboard Cup. Fele Kyanko (Women's) and Gordon Gelito (Youth) were also crowned at Boracay. The fastest rider of the event was Manny Cabili. He has reached the incredible speed of 58/kph.

With more then 7.000 islands, Philippines is one of the best windsurfing destinations in the world. The consistency of the wind also puts Boracay in the epicenter of wind sports.

2011 Boracay International Funboard Cup results:


Grand Master
1. Rolando Francisco (PHI)
2. Robert Graf (SWI)

1. Fabrice Beaux (FRA/USA)
2. Keiichi Kobayashi (GUM)
3. Typhoon (KOR)

1. Reneric Moreno (PHI)
2. German Paz (PHI)
3. Gido Gelito (PHI)

1. Gordon Gelito (PHI)
2. Harold Madrigal (PHI)

1. Fele Kyanko (PHI)
2. Tiina Jurisson (EST)
3. Simone Bartmann (GER)

Speed Men
1. Manny Cabili (PHI) – 58kph
2. Gilbert Gelito (PHI) – 57kph
3. Keichii Kobayashi (GUM) – 55kph

Speed Ladies
1. Simone Bartmann (GER) – 48kph
2. Tiina Jurisson (EST) – 46kph
3. Fele Kyanko (PHI) – 46kph

Surfing at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games will take place in the ocean, not in a wave pool. The waiting period runs from July 24 to August 9.

+ Surfing News

It's almost finals' day at Playa Llacolén. The 2018 Antofagasta Bodyboard Festival (ABF) continues in La Cupula, one of the finest boogie waves in Chile.

+ Bodyboarding News

Nic Rapa and Sean Silveira have taken out the second event of the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), held at Lake Allatoona's Dallas Landing Park, in Acworth, Georgia.

+ Wakeboarding News