Mike Nelson: smile, the trophy is yours

Mike Nelson has conquered the 2011/2012 NSW Windsurf Tour "Formula Series", held in Australia. The last event of the season was sailed in Jervis Bay.

The premier Formula Windsurfing race competitions showcase the best windsurfers in the country, in some idyllic locations such as Hawks Nest and Jervis Bay, as well as spots closer to more populated centres, such as Lake Macquarie, near Newcastle, and Botany Bay, in Sydney.

"I feel so happy and relieved to finish the series in first place. The first time I've won it in a while. It's really tough to be competitive in every event, particularly when there’s only one drop. So consistency is the key", says Mike Nelson.

"I'm stoked to have won, and kudos to Byron McLlveen, who kept the pressure all the way till the end", he adds. The 2011/2012 NSW Windsurf Tour "Formula Series" saw a total of 66 racers hotly contesting seven rounds, comprising a total of 42 races held in conditions ranging from 8-30 knots.

Well known racers like Jesper Vesterstrom, Wilhelm Schurmann, Mathias Pinheiro and Australia's Sean O'Brien have raced in this season. World's number one Formula windsurfer Paulo Dos Reis participated in some rounds, too.

The successful tour also featured the global debut of the new Starboard Formula 167 Wide, which has proven extremely competitive and quickly becoming attractive to top racers worldwide.

August 3, 2016, was a day that surfers should never forget. For the first time in its long history, surfing was confirmed in the Olympic Games.

+ Surfing News

Is your bodyboard heavier than you think it should be? Are you unsure whether there's water in your boogie board? Here's how to check if you're board is soaked.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News

The Wakesurf Edge Pro Shaper promises the biggest and longest wake wave in the world.

+ Wakeboarding News