Kendall Cup: tight windsurf races | Photo: RS:X and Techno NZ

Xanthe Bowater, Luke Holliday, Carmen Haybittle and Finn Croft have been crowned winners of the 2011-2012 Kendall Cup, in the BIC Techno T293 One Design class.

The six regatta series have been finished and windsurfers could drop their score from their worst result. Fortunately, the competition was intense, tight and everyone showed good sailing skills and tactical studies.

Tauranga, Takapuna, Murray's Bay, Howick, Kohimarama and Torbay delivered great winds for another successful run of the Kendall Cup. Sailing clubs, coaches and families have improved the quality of the competition, in which young windsurfers are the main attraction.

In the next season, there will be upgrades to the series. Bruce Kendall might get the RS:X class to join the Techno competition. Also, parents will also have the opportunity to race at the regattas. The New Zealand South Islands might also be added to the tour.

Winners of the 2011-2012 Kendall Cup:

Under 17 Girl: Xanthe Bowater, Naval Point
Under 17 Boy: Luke Holliday, Manly
Under 15 Girl: Carmen Haybittle, Murray's Bay
Under 15 Boy: Finn Croft, Manly
Most improved sailor: Patrick Haybittle, Murray's Bay

August 3, 2016, was a day that surfers should never forget. For the first time in its long history, surfing was confirmed in the Olympic Games.

+ Surfing News

Is your bodyboard heavier than you think it should be? Are you unsure whether there's water in your boogie board? Here's how to check if you're board is soaked.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News

The Wakesurf Edge Pro Shaper promises the biggest and longest wake wave in the world.

+ Wakeboarding News