Boracay RS:One World Championships: windsurfing in holiday mode

Geylord Coveta and Marina Alabau have taken the Boracay RS:One World Championships 2012, in the Philippines.

The new RS:One world champions were only crowned in the last day of competition. Three races were sailed to decide who would taste gold in the Men's, Women's and Espoir divisions.

In the Men's fleet, Geylord Coveta finished a clear eight points ahead of Chang Hao, from Taiwan. Yuta Nagano, from Hong Kong, took the bronze medal.

The Women's fleet saw Hei Man Chan put in a storming performance to win the race, but Marina Alabau pushed her all the way, took second place and the Women's world title, two points ahead on the leaderboard. Bryony Shaw from Great Britain took the bronze.

In the Espoir Men's Chun Ting Lee was happier than Lok Yiu To and Yancy Kaibigan. Interestingly, the champion only won three of the 14 races. Hei Man Chan won the Espoir Women's division.

Boracay RS:One World Championships 2012 Results:

1. Geylord Coveta
2. Chang Hao
3. Yuta Nagano

1. Marina Alabau
2. Hei Man Chan
3. Bryony Shaw

Surfing is for life, right? Well, in theory, it should be. But in reality, sometimes the destiny has other plans for our existence.

+ Surfing News

Whether you think of a kite as a wing or a sail, you want it to be lightweight, resistant, waterproof, but also stiff and flexible at the same time, so that they could respond to all flight requests.

+ Kiteboarding News

Are you on a week-long beach holiday? Have you bought bodyboard for your kid? Smart move. Get ready to introduce your offspring to the waves easily and safely. It is going to be fun.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News

Nico von Lerchenfeld has had the time of his life at Surf Snowdonia, in Wales. But he was not there to surf.

+ Wakeboarding News