Accurate jibes in the Rickenbacker Causeway

October 31, 2011 | Windsurfing
NeilPryde Racing Series Miami: RS:One keeps turning the buoy

The NeilPryde Racing Series held its stopover in Miami and provided a spectacular display of close-quarter racing at Rickenbacker Causeway (the Sailboards Miami Beach).

The NeilPryde Racing Series is a tour featuring the new, universal One-design windsurfing class, the RS:One. The tour started in January in the prestigious Marina Bay in Singapore, and has since made stopovers in Dunkerque (France), Aalborg (Denmark) and Nice (France).

The RS:One Class features a new, attractive, and dynamic race format making the racing a spectacle for the crowds and allows windsurfers from all levels, ages and genders( youth, senior, master) to compete together.

International and national athletes competed alongside the local windsurfing heroes and the winner of each division shared the US $4,000 prize money.

Ferocious battles with good wind conditions (13-to-18 knots) were in no short supply throughout the day. Twelve qualifications races were achieved with an intense tempo on short and dynamic race courses allowing the super final to be raced with the top 3-4 of each division at 3 pm.

The top 14 windsurfers pushed their limits with an incredible and intense final. There was no room for error with a fast paced reaching start under the "black flag" whereby any racer starting early would be disqualified.

The fleet delivered a powerful start with accurate jibes at the first mark promising a big battle for the 2 labs of this final race of the American Series Opener.

The drama started on the first upwind leg where the leader and Neilpryde Team rider, Diego Domennaiani over-stood the weather mark by nearly 100 yards allowing young Cullen Ahern and top female competitor and Adventure Sports Miami manager, Colette Guadagnino to move ahead.

It was a very tight second lap with Ahern battling Gaudagnino. Each rider made impressive jibes and held similar speed through the second lap in route to the finish. In the end it was youth that prevailed with Ahern taking the overall title with Colette behind by less than 20 seconds followed by the experienced Britt Viehman.

2011 NeilPryde Racing Series Miami | Results

Women Senior (17-35 years old): 1st Colette Guadagnino, 2nd Margot Samson
Women Master (35 years old and older): 1st Dominique Vallee, 2nd Karen Marriott, 3rd Lim Uiane
Mens Senior (17-35 years old): 1st Cullen Ahern, 2nd Diego Femenias, 3rd Adolofo Jimenez-Castellanos
Mens Master (35 years old and older): 1st Britt Viehmann, 2nd Diego Domenniani, 3rd Ron Kern
Boy Youth (17 years old and younger): 1st Raul Lopez, 2nd Maximo Nores, 3rd Jonathan Rudich

The NeilPryde Racing Series will now move to Hong-Kong, Melbourne and Fortalezza.