Antoine Albeau crowned 2011 Formula Windsurfing world champion

July 12, 2011 | Windsurfing
Antoine Albeau: the eternal winner

Antoine Albeau is the 2011 Formula Windsurfing world champion. The French windsurfer captured the title in the beautiful waters of Puerto Rico.

During the first two days, a total of 7 races were completed. Then, on the third day the wind shutdown and most sailors were happy to get a day of rest.

During the remaining two days, the winds shifted gear, were back on creating perfect conditions and ranging from 15 to 25 knots.

With this sailors were able to do a total of 15 races, the maximum allowed in a Championship, which left no doubts who the best sailors were.

Taking the early lead and winning the event with 3 races to spare was Antoine Albeau (FRA 192), who simply dominated the fleet.

In second place was Arnon Dagan (ISR 1), who had a good come back on the last few days of the event and just managed to edge out Young Gabriel Browne (BRA50) who had an incredible regatta and finished third.

In the light weight division, Wilhelm Schurmann (BRA999) took the title followed closely by Miguel Martinho (POR5) and Pablo Ania (ESP16) in third.

The organization was simply superb, with Jose Garcia, Arturo Gallardo and Carla going out of their way to make sure competitors had all they needed for a great competition.


1st Antoine Albeau
2nd Arnon Dagan
3rd Gabriel Browne
4th Paulo Dos Reis
5th Gonzalo Costa Hoevel


1st Marion Lepert
2nd Morane Demont