Bernd Roediger steals the show at the 2013 AWT Hatteras Wave Jam

September 24, 2013 | Windsurfing
Bernd Roediger: wave ripper

Bernd Roediger has clinched the 2013 AWT Hatteras Wave Jam, in North Carolina.

Two solid days of waves and wind allowed for the completion of all divisions. The AWT scoring system paid off as all competitors are allowed a second chance, if they mess up in the first round encouraging riders to really push the limits of their skills.

The Pro final came down to a battle between Andy McKinney, Fabrice Beaux, Bernd Roediger and Kevin Pritchard. McKinney is the owner of a local shop (Wind-NC) and used his Hatteras knowledge to advance to the final and finish in fourth position.

Beaux absolutely ripped his way through the heat up to the final but struggled to find the best set waves resulting in a third place finish.

The battle for the top spot was close with Pritchard’s powerful style matching up against Roediger's new-school moves. Roediger took the heat with the wave ride of the event that included a big one-handed aerial and a Taka.

In the Women's comp, girls prove they rip whenever called upon, no matter the conditions, and they always do so with a smile on their faces.

Miho Tanaka defended her title from last year winning over Sam Bittner and Kerri Stokes. Sam Bittner sailed very well but couldn't match the far more experienced Tanaka.

The Am final featured George Marcopoulos, Ken Ahrendt, Ian Stokes and Casey Treichler. The top spot came down to a close fight between young gun Stokes and the "Reef Warrior" Treichler. In the end, Treichler found the better set-wave to rip apart giving him the title.

The Masters final featured a 4-man heat of Dave Kashy, Gordy Stokes, Ken Keller and Mike Wazenski. All had been sailing very well through the competition and in the end Kashy took the top podium spot over Wazenski, Keller and Stokes.

2013 AWT Hatteras Wave Jam | Results

1. Bernd Roediger
2. Kevin Pritchard
3. Fabrice Beaux
4. Andy McKinney

1. Miho Tanaka
2. Sam Bittner
3. Kerri Stokes

Amateur: Casey Treichler
Masters: Dave Kashy uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.