Bjorn Dunkerbeck is the 2014 European Speed Windsurfing champion

June 14, 2014 | Windsurfing
Bjorn Dunkerbeck: he won his own event

Bjorn Dunkerbeck and Zara Davis have been crowned the 2014 European Speed Windsurfing champions, at Costa Calma, Fuerteventura.

The inaugural Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge was a total success. With six days of races held in strong winds, windsurfers were able to reach the 40 knots.

Bjorn Dunkerbeck dominated the event from the start, and scored nine straight bullets, leaving Jurjen Van Der Noord and Anders Bringdal in the remaining podium positions.

In the Women's division, Zara Davis accelerated to victory by winning seven out of nine races in Fuerteventura. She finished 18th in the overall ranking. Lena Erdil and Anna Schindler kept second and third.

The Junior fleet had an afternoon slot for them to race by themselves. The grand winner was Robin Van Linden, followed by Alexa Escherich - the only Junior girl - and Liam Dunkerbeck.

Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge | 2014 ISWC European Championship

1. Bjorn Dunkerbeck
2. Jurjen van der Noord
3. Anders Bringdal
4. Serge Beumer
5. Minos Efstathiadis
6. Dylan de Jong
7. Alexander Goncharov
8. Jim Crossley.
9. Kai Kaufmann
10. Peter Pfaffenbichler

1. Zara Davis
2. Lena Erdil
3. Anne Schindler

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2022 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers