Brett Goodwin blasts the curl at Gerroa

December 23, 2013 | Windsurfing
Brett Goodwin: blasting the curl

Brett Goodwin has clinched the third stage of the 2013/2014 NSW Wavesailing Tour, held at Gerroa.

The event was scheduled for Wanda Beach, but the waves were closing out and overall conditions were too extreme, leaving the beach break unsailable.

Gerroa would provide slightly smaller, more manageable waves and better winds. Nevertheless, getting out was a difficult task, with the large swell and a gusty cross-off wind making it tricky to get through the break.

During the Expression Session period, Forrest Ladkin stood out with his sleek bottom turns and waveriding. In the Masters, Jason Cater and Jason Juretic showed off their skills in the testing conditions. Jessica Crisp also put up a good show until she hurt her foot and had to stop sailing.

After some already epic sailing, six standout sailors in the Open division were chosen to be judged in a superheat. Andrew Gibbon showed off his classic-style waveriding abilities with some classy waverides and competition airs.

Francois Regis showed that euros can ride waves in good conditions and Tim Knowles delivered a solid performance that he has become known for.

The top three came down to Forrest Ladkin, Brett Goodwin and Duncan Osborne. Brett Goodwin put on a display of incredible lip hits at the critical moment, while Duncan Osborne put to use his newfound goiter skills.

Forrest Ladkin stole the show though, pulling a huge, perfectly timed aerial off a mast high set, and landing it to claim the wave of the day. Ultimately it was Brett Goodwin who won the event, with Duncan Osborne finishing in second place and Forrest Ladkin in third.

Next up was the Masters, Juniors and Women superheat. Warren Holder won the Masters division with a perfect waveride ahead of Steve Robinson.

Zack Coleman edged out an on fire Jake Juretic to win the Juniors, and Jessica Crisp went back into the water to win the Women's division despite having badly injured her ankle earlier in the day.

2013/2014 NSW Wavesailing Tour | Stage #3 Results

1. Brett Goodwin
2. Duncan Osborne
3. Forrest Ladkin

1. Warren Holder
2. Steve Robinson
3. Jason Juretic

1. Jessica Crisp

1. Zack Coleman
2. Jake Juretic