Guy Cribb: UK's windsurfing treasure

The United Kingdom Windsurfing Association (UKWA) has established the "UKWA Hall of Fame".

The first seven recipients of this award are windsurfers who have made an outstanding contribution to windsurfing in the British Islands.

Peter Chilvers, credited with inventing the sailboard in 1958, is one of the personalities who has already been awarded thia distinction.

Nik Baker (the best ever British wave windsurfer), Guy Cribb (13-time UK windsurfing champion), Dave White (the most successful speed sailor in the UK), Dave Hackford (the first Olympic windsurfer competition with the British flag), Peter Hart (windsurfer and coach) and Penny Wilson (three-time Women's World Racing champion) are also now part of the windsurfing "UKWA Hall of Fame."

These 10 sailors have a long career in British windsurfing and are still very involved in developing the sport in the UK and worldwide.

The UKWA will consider additions to the windsurfing "UKWA Hall of Fame" on an annual basis.

Top Stories

Professional surfers Kai Lenny and Jamie O'Brien embarked on a thrilling adventure when they set sail aboard the high-performance USA SailGP F50 foiling catamaran.

Planing is one of the most exciting skills you can master while windsurfing. It usually separates beginners from intermediate and advanced sailors. But what is the minimum wind speed to get flying over water?

The Portuguese island of Madeira is home to the world's first natural swimming pool windsurfing regatta.

Sarah Hauser set a new Guinness World Record for the biggest wave ridden by a female windsurfer.