City windsurfing hits Dunkerque

June 20, 2011 | Windsurfing
NeilPryde Racing Series: couldn't be closer to spectators

The NeilPryde Racing Series made it’s second stop last Monday in Dunkerque, France, where it featured it’s new concept of city center windsurf racing.

The Racing Series merges NeilPryde’s RS:One (the universal and inter generational one design rig and board) with the 2016 NeilPryde Olympic RS:X Evolution concept.

The challenge to hold the race right in Dunkerque’s city center wasn’t an easy task but with the work and devotion of the organizers, the energy of the racers and public enthusiasm, the event turned into a great success giving a promising outlook to the growth of the NeilPryde Racing Series concept.

18 times World Champion, Windsurf Speed World Record holder and Sailor of the Year, Antoine Albeau took part in the races with the Olympic gold medalist Faustine Merret, the bronze medalist Bryony Shaw, three of the top 10 world class RS:X athletes Diane Detre, Olga Maslivets and Maksim Oberemko, the French windsurf Olympic Team and the local heroes securing a spectacular 6 hour show.

The athletes from 6 nations fought for the 4000 Euros cash prize money through a new and dynamic course format which provided the spectators with an easy to understand and intensive show. The last mark was positioned right in front of the watching crowds to allow them to witness the effort and technical skills of the racers.

Bryony Shaw and Olga Maslivets provided an intense fight for the watching crowds in the Women’s RS:X Evolution races, were finally Olga Maslivets took 1st place. On the RS:X men’s side, the victory was claimed by the French athlete Louis Benoit Hug.

Young local Louis Rigaut (12 years old) dominated the RS:One youth division while another local hero Jean-Baptiste Messiaen took the RS:One masters crown. Faustine Merret secured her leadership in the RS:One women’s fleet and in the RS:One Senior division, we witnessed the domination of Gregoire Masson.

Motivated by the success of the city of Dunkerque event, the OGS and the NeilPryde brand officially announced at the prize ceremony that the event is confirmed for 2012. The next stop of the NeilPryde Racing Series will be held in Miami, in the end of September.

RS:X Evolution Women
1- Olga Maslivets – UKR
2- Bryony Shaw – UK
3- Diane Detre – HUN

RS:X Evolution Men
1- Louis Benoit HUG – FRA
2- Pierre Lecoq – FRA

RS:One Women
1- Faustine Merret – FRA
2- Noemie Dubois – FRA
3- Romane Chavatte – FRA

RS:One Youth Boys
1- Louis Rigaut – FRA
2- Stuart Hard – UK
3- Mathieu Cornil – FRA

RS:One Senior
1- Gergoire Masson – FRA
2- Alexandre Noblanc – FRA

RS:One Master Men
1- Jean- Baptiste Messiaen – FRA
2- Christophe Isaert – FRA
3- Yann Bouverne – FRA uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.