David Knight and Chris Lock broke 30 knots in the Midwest Speed Quest

June 2, 2009 | Windsurfing

Ed Melechson in the Midwest Speed Quest

Leading economists say programs that put cash into the hands of consumers will speed up the economic recovery. In response, the Midwest Speed Quest has announced a 3 Phase "Economic Stimulus Program".

PHASE ONE: $200 CASH for the first Windsurfer who records a "Best Ten Second Interval" of 30 knots. If two or more windsurfers recorded this speed on a single day, these funds were to be shared. Today three racers showed up, so It was decided that any racer who broke 30 knots on May 31 would be awarded $200.

David Knight of Fridley MN recorded a 31.74 knot run. He was sailing a Carbon Art SL 62 Slalom Board, a KA Koncept 5.8 Sail, and a Vector Rockit 34 cm fin.

Chris Lock of Plainview MN recorded a 30.14 knot run. He was sailing a Starboard Carve 111 Board, a KA Koncept 6.6 Sail, and a Vector Canefire 38 cm fin.

Dave and Chris accepted their Prize Money. This is not the money you could be saving on car insurance. This is the money you could be winning at the Midwest Speed Quest!

This Prize Money is ON TOP OF the $2500 Cash awarded to Top Racers at the end of the year. First Place is $1000, Second Place is $500, Third Place is $250, Fourth is $125, Fifth is $75.

Women's, Youth, Hybrid, and Formula Categories will be created if requested by 3 or more racers.

Ed Melechson of Omaha Nebraska recorded a 29.331 knot run. Although he did not win $200; he did record a number of personal best speeds including a 30.114 knot Two Second Run. Ed will be back later this year for another session. Ed was sailing a HiFly Free Ride Board and a KA Koncept 5.8 Sail.

Stay Tuned for PHASE TWO of the Economic Stimulus Package, which will start on June 9, 2009. The first \"Ten Second Run\" of 35 knots will win $500 CASH on the spot!!!

The Midwest Speed Quest runs on an open Schedule from April 15th to October 15th, 2009.


Everything is free. There are no fees or other charges. Even the GT31 GPS is provided to all racers.