Double victory for Phil McGain in Maui Race Series

July 9, 2008 | Windsurfing
2008 Maui Race Series: Phil McGain stole the show

Race 3 of the Maui Race Series was yet last Saturday. 40 sailors gathered at Kanaha for the Quiksilver Cup to test their skills, but it was Phil McGain leading the pack in the Mens pro division right out of the gates.

McGain using his TR-4 6.6 and 58cm Carbon Art, powered his way to take 3 wins out of 4 and won this division from Peter Slate and Alex Aguera.

In the afternoon heats McGain competing in the 40-49 age group again was able to nail his starts and drive with precision around the course to win 3 heats out of 4 and take another victory away from Alex Aguera with Elon Wong in third place.

It was a good day for Maui Sails as Paulina Pease won the Junior girls division with some consistent sailing, from Kristen Orth in second and Kizmet Kilbourn in third place. Mark Boersma had a great day in the hotly contested mens 19-39 division who got second place just behind Pieter Bijl and then back in third was Peter Slate.

Next race will be in two weeks which will be the final event of the year to decide the Maui county Champion.

Source: Maui Sails uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.