Formula Windsurfing Youth and Master champions crowned in Gallipoli

July 7, 2014 | Windsurfing
Janis Preiss: hooked on winning

Karl-Erik Saarm and Janis Preiss have been crowned the 2014 Formula Windsurfing Youth and Master world champions, in Gallipoli, Italy.

After five days of competition and 15 races, the windsurfer from Latvia claimed the world title and the 2014 Gallipoli Formula European Cup trophy.

In the last day of competition, Preiss was fired up, taking three of the four bullets, whilst for Miguel Martinho, two of his races today ended up being two of his three series discards.

At the end of the day, Janis had five points separating him and Martinho. First Grandmaster Marco Begalli clung on to his third place on the podium by a mere two points as Latvian Maris Birzulis rounded off a good day, taking the last bullet of the championship.

In the Youth Fleet, it wasn't Karl-Erik Saarm's best day either. He started off well with a win but then was OCS in the next race. However, he finished the championship top of the leaderboard with a healthy five point lead over Leonardo Venturini, who took two bullets on this final day. Jan Orsatti claimed the third podium spot.

Lars Van Someren, the first Junior, moved up to fourth place overall, faring better than Artur Kaikull who had entered the final day with equal points but ended up discarding three of his final four races.

He finished on equal points with fellow Estonian Tristen Erik Kivi who enjoyed his best day of the championship.

Formula Windsurfing Youth and Master World Championship 2014

1. Karl-Erik Saarm
2. Leonardo Venturini
3. Jan Orsatti

1. Janis Preiss
2. Miguel Martinho
3. Marco Begalli uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.