Fuerteventura Wave Classic returns to the Canary Islands

March 14, 2012 | Windsurfing
Fuerteventura Wave Classic: ramps make you fly

The Fuerteventura Wave Classic 2012 is preparing to attack the best spots in the island. The fourth edition of the windsurfing contest will get underway between 17th-23rd March.

The competition promises four teams, each containing of three men and one woman, competing against each other in the best possible conditions. The teams will judge themselves and will also choose the winning team.

The organization has already announced the names that will be wave sailing at the Fuerteventura Wave Classic 2012. Dario Ojeda, Iballa Ruano Moreno, Tom Hartmann and Andrew Fawcett are only a few names of the overall 16 windsurfers in competition.

"Forecast is already looking promising. The Red Bull jet ski is in the harbor waiting, the Fuerteventura wave classic t-shirt is in the shops and riders start arriving in a couple of days to Fuerte, so keep your eyes on the websites to follow the event and if you happen to be in the island come and see us to the beach", says Orlando Lavandera, the event manager.

The Fuerteventura Wave Classic 2012 will keep its mobile structure to be ready to hit different spots, which are all lined up along the north and northeast of Fuerteventura. Every morning, after a spot-check, riders will decide on the best option for contest and, depending on the conditions, will meet there.

Fuerteventura Wave Classic 2012 | Entry List

Dario Ojeda (E)
Andrew Fawcett (UK)
Francisco Casas Garcia (E)
Federico Infantino (ITA)
Justin Denel (FRA)
Jules Denel (FRA)
Tom Hartmann (AUT)
Yannick Anton (local)
Will Ward (local)
Stepane Etienne (local)
Shannon Bohny (local)
Albert Ferroni (local)
Iballa Ruano Moreno (E)
Amanda Beenen (NED)
Fanny Aubet (FRA)
Nicole Boronat (local)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: