Gareth Woods and Lucy Waters win the first Aviemore Challenge Trophy

January 7, 2010 | Windsurfing

Aviemore Challenge Trophy

The first Aviemore Challenge Trophy event held at Lake Aviemore, South Island from 1-3 Jan 2010 was dubbed a great event by all those who took part as well as the organisers and their team.

In all 19 windsurfers entered, slightly less than expected, but for a first event all were happy. Everyone took home a cool tee shirt as well as a dental pack, there were trophies to keep for each of the main classes, a very special silver plate as the main Challenge Trophy and lots of spot prizes too.

The social side of the event which is primarily organised around a lovely traditional camping/sailing spot was helped by sponsorship beer which added that special bonus to 'after sailing' stories.

First day of the event ended up with a freesailing session at Lake Benmore as the winds at Aviemore were unfavourable and rather nuclear. Many of us who have sailed there for 10 + years have never seen quite so much white foam on Aviemore (around the country gusts of 100+ were recorded that day). So it had been a good call to go elsewhere for a play.

The second day saw the sailors doing the planned long distance race in a good Southerly (20+), over to the other side and back twice. Approx 12 kms.

On Day 3 we were met with less favourable North West winds again, but a vote was taken and we decided to race. Two races were held of a single crossing to the other side. The winds were rather erratic and the planned cross winder turned into an upwinder and then a scary screaming downwind run, but hey, the conditions were the same for everyone.

Highlights of the event included having so many first time racers in the silver fleet; relative newcomer to racing Nathan Taylor nearly beating the favourite Gareth Woods in one race on Day 3; and of course the beers and the end of event BBQ and party.

Challenge Trophy/ Open Mens; 1. Gareth Woods. 2. Paul Vilestra. 3.Nathan Taylor.
Open Womens; 1. Lucy Waters. 2. Sue Bradley. 3. Annie Crombie.
Masters. 1. Simon Hall. 2. John Holgate. 3. Graham Evans.
Silver fleet. 1. Jodi Taylor. 2. Tom Cowan. 3. Louisa Andrews.

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019