Geylord Coveta takes the Boracay RS:One World Championships

December 17, 2012 | Windsurfing
Boracay RS:One World Championships: windsurfing in holiday mode

Geylord Coveta and Marina Alabau have taken the Boracay RS:One World Championships 2012, in the Philippines.

The new RS:One world champions were only crowned in the last day of competition. Three races were sailed to decide who would taste gold in the Men's, Women's and Espoir divisions.

In the Men's fleet, Geylord Coveta finished a clear eight points ahead of Chang Hao, from Taiwan. Yuta Nagano, from Hong Kong, took the bronze medal.

The Women's fleet saw Hei Man Chan put in a storming performance to win the race, but Marina Alabau pushed her all the way, took second place and the Women's world title, two points ahead on the leaderboard. Bryony Shaw from Great Britain took the bronze.

In the Espoir Men's Chun Ting Lee was happier than Lok Yiu To and Yancy Kaibigan. Interestingly, the champion only won three of the 14 races. Hei Man Chan won the Espoir Women's division.

Boracay RS:One World Championships 2012 | Results

1. Geylord Coveta
2. Chang Hao
3. Yuta Nagano

1. Marina Alabau
2. Hei Man Chan
3. Bryony Shaw uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.