Gonzalo Costa Hoevel wins the 2015 Formula Windsurfing World Championships

April 13, 2015 | Windsurfing
Gonzalo Costa Hoevel: maiden world title in the Azores | Photo: Eric Bellande

Gonzalo Costa Hoevel has been crowned the 2015 Formula Windsurfing world champion, at Praia da Vitória, in the Azores Islands, Portugal.

The Argentinian sailor secured a maiden world title with an impressive record of nine victories in 12 races. On the last day of the competition, Hoevel won three races.

It was written in the stars, and Gonzalo only allowed Sebastian Kornum and Steve Allen to celebrate a first place in three regattas.

"I managed to win it, so I am really happy! I had five Formula World Championships podiums and finally I got to the top spot," expressed Costa Hoevel.

"Thanks very much everyone for the good vibe and support messages! I want to dedicate this achievement to my wife Delfi Gainza, and to a great friend who is not here with us anymore, Alby Menegatti! Legends never die!"

In the battle for the silver and bronze medals, young Danish rider Sebastian Kornum took what he thought was his first event win in race 9. However, he was judged to be over the line early at the start and was disqualified.

By race number 11, the pressure was mounting under 30-knot plus winds, and in the decisive battle of the season, Janis Preiss held his nerve and finished ahead of Sebastian, to secure second place overall.

The 2015 Formula Windsurfing World Championships in the Azores were a total success. Seventeen countries and three continents were represented by their very best windsurfers, and Praia da Vitória proved it is one of the best venues in the world for world-class windsurfing.

2015 Formula Windsurfing World Championships | Final Results

1. Gonzalo Costa Hoevel
2. Janis Preiss
3. Sebastian Kornum
4. Stephen Allen
5. Sebastian Koerdel
6. Ross Williams
7. Arnon Dagan
8. Casper Bouman
9. Mateus Isaac
10. Michal Polanowski

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2021 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers