Gonzalo Hoevel conquers the 2008 FW Grand Prix Series

December 2, 2008 | Windsurfing

2008 FW Grand Prix Series

Last day of racing would decide the places 2nd to 5th in the 2008 Wind Brasil Grand Prix.

The chasing pack would know their fate at the end of the last race of the series - there is a local saying here in Fortaleza, the last race decides the winners!

Similar winds to yesterday were forecast, but to make racing more interesting there was a swell to contend with, and two "gates" ( marks of the course) to negociate.

Race 14, and two sailors were over eager to get a good start, the individual recall flag was hoisted on the start boat, but the sailors did not return. Fabio Melo (BRA74 ) and Hubert Mokrzycki (POL25) were later disqualified.

Three sailors, leading contenders for a podium position, battled it out for the top points. It was Ross Williams (GBR83) who crossed the finish line ahead of close rivals Willhelm Schurmann (BRA999) and Gabriel Browne (BRA50)- a result that after 14 races moved him into second overall.

Race 15, and the spectators on the harbour wall in front of the Marina Park Hotel were treated to a thrilling finale to this final race of the 2008 Formula World Tour. This time Fabio made no mistake at the start, and with brother Victor (BRA2497 ) led the sailors to the first, windward, gate.

Ross, followed by Gabriel, was close behind and needed to keep one place ahead of Biel to retain second place overall. As the sailors fought their way around the second lap it was Gabriel who moved ahead of Ross, and held off the challenge of Willhelm Schurmann (BRA999) who sailed a storming 2 lap to move ahead of Ross into 3rd place.

Fabio retained his lead to the finish; and Gabriel's second place in race 15 earned him second place in the overall event ranking.

On the podium at the prize giving were :
1st Gonzalo Costa Hoevel (ARG3)
2nd Gabriel Browne (BRA50)
3rd Ross Williams (GBR83)

2008 Grand Prix Series - the Winners.
The 2008 World Tour Series comprised 4 events: Sines, Portugal; Sopot, Poland; Allegro Cup,Leba,Poland; and Wind Brasil, Fortaleaza, Brazil.

Gonzalo Costa Hoevel's win in Fortaleaza lifts him into first place in the series and top of the Formula Windsurfing World Ranking; completing a good year for him.

1st - Gonzalo Costa Hoevel (ARG3)
2nd- Steve Allen (AUS0)
3rd- Ross Williams (GBR83)
4th- Jesper Vesterstrom (DEN111)
5th- Willhelm Schurman (BRA999)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: