Gonzalo Hoevel is the 2013 Formula Experience world champion

November 19, 2013 | Windsurfing
Gonzalo Costa Hoevel: experienced in Formula Experience

Gonzalo Costa Hoevel has been crowned the 2013 Formula Experience world champion, in Araruama, Brazil.

After a couple of days of intensive racing on the water, Gonzalo is happy that he could throw out both "OCS" scores of 66 points, which kept him out of the running, until the last day of racing when two discards came into play.

Despite the two over-eager starts, Gonzalo dominated the Championships with six bullets out of 10 races, and great versatility.

Since the start, Costa Hoevel was the one to watch, with his Formula background and years of experience on the PWA World Tour, and proved to be too much to handle for the rest of the competition.

The 2012 world champion Paulo dos Reis finished the championship two points behind and had to settle for second place on the podium, after ten races. The third and final step on the podium was taken by Pablo Ania Barrachina, from Spain.

Brazilians took all the sub-division titles: Paulo dos Reis is first Master; first Youth is Leonardo Venturini, who finished 10th overall; Luis Souza is first Grand Master and First Junior is Brenno Francioli.

In the Women's division, Argentinian Jazmen Lopez Becker and Brazilian Patricia Freitas share equal points, but Jazmen beats Patricia on discards. The third sailor is Patricia Freitas.

2013 Formula Experience World Championships | Results

1. Gonzalo Costa Hoevel (ARG)
2. Paulo do Reis (BRA)
3. Pablo Ania Barrachina (ESP)
4. Mariano Reutmann (ARG)
5. Nahoel Abram (ARG)
6. Martin Miguel Berardo (ARG)
7. Marcos Mureio (ARG)
8. Eduardo Javier Herman Kretschmer (CHI)
9. Marcello Morrone (BRA)
10. Leonardo Venturini Filho (BRA)
11. Guilhermo Ahlig (URU)
12. Gabriel Bastos Pereira (BRA)
13. Luis Souza (BRA)
14. Pablo São Thiago (BRA)
15. Alessio Botteri (PER)