Israeli sailors dominate the 2013 Techno 293 European Championship

November 4, 2013 | Windsurfing
2013 Techno 293 European Championship: Israeli windsurfers chasing a Norwegian adventurer

Ofek Elimelech, Mariam Sekhposyan, Itai Kafri and Katy Spychakov have conquered the 2013 Techno 293 European Championship, in Eilat, Israel.

The final day started with stronger wind than the two previous days enabling the race committee to run three races.

Forty six young men battled it out and three nationalities finished on the podium, in the Youth Boys division.

It seemed for the first half of the championship that Daniel Harari, Ofek Elimelech and Ukranian Oleksandr Goncharenko had the championship podium sewn up.

Although his last race ended up as his discard, Ofek did enough to maintain his top spot and claim the title of Techno 293 European Youth Boys champion.

In the Youth Girls category, there was a very close competition at the top of the fleet, with Russian Mariam Sekhposyn finishing just three points ahead of Shoval Ravitzki and Noy Drihan on equal points, separated by their discards.

All three girls on the championship podium took a race win on day five, but Mariam came out top and thus earns the title of Techno 293 Youth Girls European champion.

In the Junior Boys, Israelis Itai Kafri and Guy Sitin staked their claims on the top two podium positions, from day two.

Geronimo Nores from the USA seemed safe in third place until the end of day four when Israeli Adam Tzachar was just one point off the podium, then kicked Geronimo off completely on the final day.

In Junior Girls, Katy Spychakov was tough to beat winning eight out of the 10 races, although second placed Lidia Sulikowska, from Poland, took the bullets in the second and fourth races.

Competition was keen between Lidia and Yarden Isaak, with Yarden being ahead of Lidia over the finish line, five times out of ten, but not doing quite enough to overtake her on the leaderboard.

2013 Techno 293 European Championship | Results

Youth Boys:
1. Ofek Elimelech (ISR-639)
2. Oleksandr Goncharenko (UKR-46)
3. Nikita Prozorov (RUS-9)

Youth Girls:
1. Mariam Sekhposyan (RUS-13)
2. Shoval Ravitzki (ISR-615)
3. Noy Drihan (ISR-620)

Junior Boys:
1. Itai Kafri (ISR-309)
2. Guy Sitin (ISR-303)
3. Adam Tzachar (ISR-961)

Junior Girls:
1. Katy Spychakov (ISR-630)
2. Lidia Sulikowska (POL-313)
3. Yarden Isaak (ISR-252) uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.