Izzy Hamilton wins YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year

January 10, 2011 | Windsurfing

Izzy Hamilton: fast and furious

Izzy Hamilton has won the YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year Award 2010. The 18-year-old windsurfer picked up her trophy at the London International Boat Show.

Hamilton is the 2010 RS:X Youth World Windsurfing champion. She is Britain’s first ever double Youth World Windsurfing champion. The other finalists for the YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year were Anya Colley (RYA 2010 National Jetsport IJSBA Ski Stock champion), Joanna Freeman and Hannah Mitchell (2010 RYA Volvo Nationals champions).

Twelve of Izzy's competitors were RYA Regional Young Sailor of the Year voted for by RYA affiliated sailing clubs. These young sailors have made a significant impact on youth sailing, ranging from gold medal winning achievements and overcoming adversity, to the huge amount of hard work and effort they give back to their clubs.

These included Anya Colley, Sophie Murphy, Jordan Muckles, Callum Airlie, Joanna Freeman and Hannah Mitchell, Richard Thomas, Sam Sills, Aaron Reynolds, Ellie Meopham, Sarah Norbury, Connor Bainbridge and Cameron Douglas.

YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year award was first presented in 1993. Early winners include Dame Ellen MacArthur and Ben Ainslie CBE, who both went on to win the Yachtsman of the Year title.

Lucy Macgregor, Skandia Team GBR’s Women’s Match Racing World champion, delivered the trophy to Izzy Hamilton.

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019